Gaylord Perry lone 2012 Indians Hall of Fame inductee

CLEVELAND, OH--The Cleveland Indians today announced the organization will induct RHP GAYLORD PERRY into the Cleveland Indians Hall of Fame. JIM WARFIELD and JACK GRANEY will be inducted into the Distinguished Hall of Fame for non-uniformed personnel. The inductions will take place on Saturday, August 11 prior to the 6:05PM game vs. Boston Red Sox at Progressive Field.  

More than 1,700 players have worn an Indians uniform- the total inducted into the player wing of the club's Hall of Fame at Heritage Park now stands at 38. The Distinguished Hall of Fame, established in 2010, now stands at five (Owners Bill Veeck and Dick Jacobs, GM/Super Scout Cy Slapnicka).  


Gaylord Perry (1972-1975)
Gaylord Perry is a Cooperstown Hall of Famer who was the first pitcher to win the Cy Young Award in each league. He won his first Cy Young Award in 1972 while with the Indians, winning 24 games with 1.92 ERA and 234 strikeouts. In his three-plus seasons with the Tribe, Perry went 70-57 with a 2.51 ERA and had a save in his only relief outing.  He was a two-time All-Star with Indians during the 1972 and 1974 seasons. Overall, Perry was a five-time All-Star with a record of 314-265 in 22 seasons (5350IP/3534Ks).   


Jim Warfield 
Jim Warfield was an athletic trainer of the Cleveland Indians from 1965 until his death in 2002. He spent 26 years with the organization beginning with the Double-A affiliate before being named Indians head athletic trainer from1971-1996. He was then assistant athletic trainer from 1997-2002. Warfield was an American League athletic trainer for the 1981 and 1997 All-Star games. He was named "Trainer of the Year" in 1992 by the Professional Baseball Athletic Trainers Society.

Jack Graney
Jack Graney was a left fielder and hit leadoff for the Cleveland Indians from 1908-1922. Graney was the American League doubles leader in 1916, a two-time AL base on balls leader (1917, 1919) and played on the Cleveland Indians World Series championship team in 1920 with a lifetime average of .250, with 148 stolen bases. He returned to the organization from 1933-1953 as a popular play-by-play announcer-the first player to enter the broadcast booth in baseball history.   
Warfield (1942-2002) and Graney (1886-1978) join the Indians Distinguished Hall of Fame posthumously alongside previous inductees Richard Jacobs, Bill Veeck and Cy Slapnicka.


The Cleveland Indians Hall of Fame was established in 1951 to recognize individuals who made a significant impact during their playing careers with the Cleveland Indians.  Inductees must have been active in an Indians uniform for at least three seasons and must be retired for one full year.  Members of the Hall of Fame will be forever recognized in HERITAGE PARK located behind the center field wall of Progressive Field.  


2B ROBERTO ALOMAR- Inducted 2011
CA SANDY ALOMAR- Inducted 2009
OF EARL AVERILL- Inducted 1951
P JIM BAGBY, SR. - Inducted 2007
RHP BERT BLYLEVEN- Inducted 2011
SS LOU BOUDREAU- Inducted 1954
3B BILL BRADLEY- Inducted 1957
SS RAY CHAPMAN- Inducted 2006
P STAN COVELESKI- Inducted 1966
OF ROCKY COLAVITO- Inducted 2006
OF LARRY DOBY- Inducted 1966
P BOB FELLER- Inducted 1957
P WES FERRELL- Inducted 2009
OF ELMER FLICK- Inducted 1963
P MIKE GARCIA- Inducted 2007
MGR/2B JOE GORDON- Inducted 2008
P MEL HARDER- Inducted 1951
MGR/1B MIKE HARGROVE- Inducted 2008
CA JIM HEGAN- Inducted 1966
OF JOE JACKSON- Inducted 1951
P ADDIE JOSS- Inducted 2006
3B KEN KELTNER- Inducted 1951
2B NAP LAJOIE- Inducted 1951
P BOB LEMON- Inducted 1960
OF KENNY LOFTON- Inducted 2010
MGR. AL LOPEZ- Inducted 2006
P SAM McDOWELL- Inducted 2006
P CHARLES NAGY- Inducted 2007
CA STEVE O'NEILL- Inducted 1951
P SATCHEL PAIGE- Inducted 1965
3B AL ROSEN- Inducted 2006
P HERB SCORE- Inducted 2006
SS JOE SEWELL- Inducted 1951
OF TRIS SPEAKER- Inducted 1951
1B/DH ANDRE THORNTON- Inducted 2007
1B HAL TROSKY- Inducted 1951
P EARLY WYNN- Inducted 1972
P CY YOUNG- Inducted 1951