Pittsburgh's Trdinich named recipient of the 2011 Fishel Award


Dallas – Jim Trdinich, Director of Media Relations for the Pittsburgh Pirates, has been named the winner of the 2011 Robert O. Fishel Award for Public Relations Excellence, it was announced today during the Baseball Winter Meetings.

The Robert O. Fishel Award, named after the longtime baseball executive, goes to the "Active, non-uniformed representative of Major League Baseball whose ethics, character, dedication, service, professionalism and humanitarianism best represent the standards propounded by Robert O. Fishel."  Fishel, an executive with the Cleveland Indians, the St. Louis Browns, the New York Yankees, and the American League office, was the inaugural winner of the Award in 1981.

          Trdinich completed his 27th season in Major League Baseball in 2011, including his 23rd as a full-time member of the Pirates’ front office.  He began his career in 1985 as an intern with the club.  In 1987, Trdinich joined the National League office, working under the direction of 1994 Fishel Award winner Katy Feeney for two years.  In 1989, Trdinich returned to the Pirates as Assistant Director of Media Relations, and he became the club’s Director of Media Relations at the age of 26 in 1991.  During Trdinich’s tenure, the Pirates have hosted two All-Star Games (1994 and 2006), and the graduate of Slippery Rock University has contributed to MLB’s media relations efforts for several National League Championship Series and Midsummer Classics.

          Trdinich and his wife, Michelle, have a son, Zach.

Fishel Award nominees are submitted by the 30 Major League Clubs and league officials.  The nominees are voted upon by active past winners and MLB officials.

The previous winners of the Fishel Award are:

1981 – Robert O. Fishel, American League

1982 – Robert W. Brown, Baltimore Orioles

1983 – Larry Shenk, Philadelphia Phillies

1984 – Arthur E. (Red) Patterson, California Angels

1985 – Jim Ferguson, Cincinnati Reds

1986 – Fred Claire, Los Angeles Dodgers

1987 – Jim Toomey, St. Louis Cardinals

1988 – Tom Mee, Minnesota Twins

1989 – Donald Davidson, Houston Astros

1990 – Ned Colletti, Chicago Cubs

1991 – Phyllis K. Merhige, American League

1992 – Richard Griffin, Montreal Expos

1993 – John Blake, Texas Rangers

1994 – Katy Feeney, National League

1995 – Howard Starkman, Toronto Blue Jays

1996 – Bill Guilfoile, National Baseball Hall of Fame

1997 – Dick Bresciani, Boston Red Sox

1998 – Jay Horwitz, New York Mets

1999 – Bob DiBiasio, Cleveland Indians

2000 – Tim Mead, Anaheim Angels

2001 – Rob Matwick, Houston Astros

2002 – Mike Swanson, Arizona Diamondbacks

2003 – Rick Vaughn, Tampa Bay Devil Rays

2004 – Jeff Idelson, National Baseball Hall of Fame

2005 – Randy Adamack, Seattle Mariners

2006 – Rob Butcher, Cincinnati Reds

2007 – Richard Levin, Major League Baseball

2008 – Scott Reifert, Chicago White Sox

2009 – Patrick Courtney, Major League Baseball

2010 – Jay Alves, Colorado Rockies