Cardinals announce Miller and Adams as Minor League Award Winners

ST. LOUIS - November 30, 2011 – The St. Louis Cardinals announced today the club’s selections for 2011 Minor League Player and Pitcher of the Year honors, tabbing right-handed pitcher Shelby Miller (1st round, 2009) for the second consecutive year and first baseman Matt Adams (23th round, 2009).

Miller, 21, is the first Cardinals farmhand to win consecutive Pitcher-of-the-Year awards since Rick Ankiel in 1998 and 1999.  Miller made 25 starts between Palm Beach (A) and Springfield (AA) posting an 11-6 record with a 2.77 ERA in 139.2 innings ringing up 170 strikeouts, which ranked first in the Cardinals organization and 11th in all of Minor League Baseball.

Miller was the Cardinals Minor League Pitcher-of-the-Month for June and was selected to the Florida State League All-Star team despite making only nine starts, tallying double-digit strikeouts in five of those starts with his 81 strikeouts leading the league at the time of his promotion.  Miller pitched six innings or more 14 times and registered a quality start in all of them.

The 19th overall selection in the 2009 draft out of Brownwood (HS), Texas, Miller has been recognized as the Cardinals No. 1 prospect by Baseball America for the second consecutive season.

“Shelby had another tremendous season in 2011,” said Cardinals Farm Director John Vuch.  “He had success against hitters at two very different levels, while simultaneously continuing to make steady progress working on the things he’ll need to do in order to be effective at the highest levels.  It’s exciting to watch him continue to mature into a more polished and complete pitcher.”

Adams, 23, was the Cardinals 23rd round pick (699th overall) out of Slippery Rock (Pa.) University in 2009 and was named the 2011 Texas League Player of the Year.

The 6-foot-3, 230 lb., first baseman slugged his way to a .300 batting average, setting Springfield franchise records with 32 home runs and 101 runs batted in.  He was one of only two minor league players to pull off the feat of .300 BA, 30 HR and 100 RBI in 2011.

Adams played in 115 games at Springfield and he was solid in the field registering a .993 fielding percentage with just eight errors in 1100 total chances at first base.

His 2011 accolades included an appearance in the Texas League All-Star Game, where he homered, and he was tabbed as the Cardinals Minor League Player of the Month for May.

“Matt was challenged on the first day of Spring Training with the possibility of making the jump straight from the Midwest League to the Texas League,” said Vuch.   “His response to that opportunity was impressive.  Not only did he compile a remarkable offensive season with the bat, but he also was very solid in the other aspects of his game, while demonstrating outstanding leadership qualities.”   

A complete listing of the Cardinals’ Organizational Player and Pitcher of the Year Award selections since 1995 follows:





YR          NAME                                    TEAM (s)

1995       Mike Gulan, 3B                    Louisville/Arkansas

1996       Dmitri Young, INF               Louisville

1997       Brent Butler, INF Peoria

1998       Pablo Ozuna, INF                Peoria

1999       Adam Kennedy, INF            Memphis              

2000       Albert Pujols, 3B                 Peoria/Potomac

2001       Covelli Crisp, OF                 Potomac

2002       John Gall, 1B                        New Haven

2003       John Gall, 1B                        Tennessee/Memphis

2004       Reid Gorecki, OF                 Palm Beach/Tennessee    

2005       Travis Hanson, 3B              Springfield

2006       Colby Rasmus, OF              Quad Cities/Palm Beach

2007       Colby Rasmus, OF              Springfield

2008       Daryl Jones, OF                   Palm Beach/Springfield

2009       Allen Craig, OF/IF               Memphis

2010       Matt Carpenter, 3B              Palm Beach/Springfield

2011       Matt Adams, 1B                   Springfield

YR          NAME                                    TEAM (s)

1995       Mike Busby, RHP                Louisville/Arkansas

1996       Britt Reames, RHP              Peoria

1997       Cliff Politte, RHP                 Prince William/Ark.

1998       Rick Ankiel, LHP                 Peoria/Prince William

1999       Rick Ankiel, LHP                 Arkansas/Memphis

2000       Bud Smith, LHP                   Arkansas/Memphis

2001       Jimmy Journell, RHP          Potomac/New Haven

2002       Tyler Johnson, LHP            Peoria

2003       Dan Haren, RHP                   Tennessee/Memphis

2004       Anthony Reyes, RHP          Palm Beach/Tennessee

2005       Mark Worrell, RHP             Palm Beach

2006       Blake Hawksworth, RHP   Palm Beach/Springfield

2007       P.J. Walters, RHP                 Quad Cities/PB/Spfld

2008       Jess Todd, RHP                    PB/Spfld/Memphis

2009       Lance Lynn, RHP                 PB/Spfld/Memphis

2010       Shelby Miller, RHP             Quad Cities

2011       Shelby Miller, RHP             Palm Beach/Springfield