Rangers announce '12 TV & radio broadcast teams

The Texas Rangers today announced that the team's television and radio broadcast teams will return for the 2012 season.

Play-by-play announcer Dave Barnett and analyst Tom Grieve will describe the action on all Fox Sports Southwest and TXA21 telecasts in 2012 while Eric Nadel and Steve Busby form the broadcast team on 103.3 FM ESPN and the Rangers ESPN Radio Network. In addition, Eleno Ornelas will return as the lead play-by-play announcer for Rangers Spanish radio broadcasts on 1540 AM ESPN Deportes.

"We were very pleased with the response we received to our television and radio broadcasts last season," commented Rangers CEO and President Nolan Ryan. "Dave and Steve did a great job in their new roles, and we are happy to welcome both teams back."

Barnett, who joined the Rangers' radio broadcast in 2009, moved to the television booth fulltime on May 27, 2011 after doing a limited TV schedule in his first two seasons with the club. The longtime ESPN baseball, basketball, football, and golf announcer had previously broadcast Rangers baseball in 1990 on Home Sports Entertainment.

Busby replaced Barnett on May 27, 2011 and worked with Nadel on the majority of the radio broadcasts the rest of the year. The former major league pitcher has been a part of Rangers radio and television coverage for more than 25 years. Most recently he had served as a lead analyst on Fox Sports Southwest's pre and post game Rangers programming while working a limited schedule of television and radio games over the last several years.

Grieve returns for his 18th season as the analyst in the Rangers' television booth. For Nadel, a finalist for the 2012 National Baseball Hall of Fame's Ford C. Frick Award, next season will be his 34th broadcasting Rangers baseball, the longest tenure of any announcer in the history of the franchise. 2012 will mark his 18th year as the lead voice on Rangers radio broadcasts. Ornelas will be back for his 13th year on Rangers Spanish radio broadcasts, his tenth as the lead play-by-play announcer.