Alex Gordon wins first Gold Glove Award

KANSAS CITY, MO (November 1, 2011) -- Rawlings Sporting Goods Company, Inc., and ESPN2 announced tonight that Kansas City Royals outfielder Alex Gordon was awarded the American League Gold Glove in left field. The awards were voted on by American League managers and coaches and honor the best individual fielding performances at each position in the American and National Leagues.

Gordon, a former third baseman, earns his first career Gold Glove in his first full season in the outfield. He led all of Major League Baseball and set a Royals club record with 20 outfield assists, including throwing out 10 runners at the plate, while committing just three errors. He became the fifth outfielder in the Majors since 1969 to post at least 20 outfield assists while committing three errors or less.

The Gold Glove is the first for a Royals player since Mark Grudzielanek earned the award at second base in 2006. Gordon's Gold Glove is the 19th awarded to Royals players all-time and the seventh to an outfielder.

Below is a list of the 19 Royals' Rawlings Gold Glove winners:

1971 - Amos Otis (OF)
1973 - Amos Otis (OF)
1974 - Amos Otis (OF)
1977 - Al Cowens (OF), Frank White (2B)
1978 - Frank White (2B)
1979 - Frank White (2B)
1980 - Frank White (2B), Willie Wilson (OF)
1981 - Frank White (2B)
1982 - Frank White (2B)
1985 - George Brett (3B)
1986 - Frank White (2B)
1987 - Frank White (2B)
1989 - Bob Boone (C), Bret Saberhagen (P)
2000 - Jermaine Dye (OF)
2006 - Mark Grudzielanek (2B)
2011 - Alex Gordon (OF)

The 18 Gold Glove winners will be eligible for the inaugural Rawlings Platinum Glove Award, with the winner to be determined by fan voting on the Rawlings, ESPN and ESPN Baseball Tonight Facebook pages. Voting is now open and concludes on November 6, with the announcement of the winners coming on November 11 at the Rawlings Gold Glove Award Ceremony in New York, as well as on ESPN Baseball Tonight's Facebook page and Twitter feed.