Arenado finalist for top Players Choice Award

Blackmon, Holland also up for honors

Arenado finalist for top Players Choice Award

Rockies third baseman Nolan Arenado has been chosen as one of three finalists for the Players Choice Awards' 2017 Major League Player of the Year. Also, Arenado and center fielder Charlie Blackmon are finalists for National League Outstanding Player, and closer Greg Holland is an NL Comeback Player finalist, the MLB Players Association announced.

The awards will be announced exclusively on MLB Network on Nov. 8 at 6 p.m. MT.

Arenado is joined by the Astros' Jose Altuve and the Marlins' Giancarlo Stanton as the finalists for the overall Player of the Year Award -- the highest on-field honor for the season. Arenado drove in 130 runs -- to become the first third baseman in MLB history with at least that many RBIs in a third straight year, batted .309 (his first .300 season), knocked 37 home runs and achieved an NL-leading 37 doubles.

Blackmon on batting title

Blackmon won his first NL batting title at .331, and led the league in hits (213), triples (14) and total bases (387). Plus, his 103 RBIs and 383 total bases from the leadoff position were MLB records. He had 104 RBIs total. Blackmon also hit 37 home runs.

Arenado, Blackmon and Stanton are finalists for the NL Outstanding Player award.

Holland suffered a right elbow injury in 2015 while with the Royals, underwent Tommy John surgery that October and missed all of 2016. After signing with the Rockies, Holland earned an All-Star Game invitation and finished with 41 saves, which tied for most in the NL this season and tied Jose Jimenez (2002) for the club record.

Holland K's Sanchez, the side

Holland joins Eric Thames of the Brewers and Ryan Zimmerman of the Nationals as NL Comeback Player finalists.

Players Choice Awards benefit the Major League Baseball Players Trust, a charitable foundation established and operated by the players. Winning players will designate charities to receive grants totaling $260,000. The winners of the overall Player of the Year and Marvin Miller Man of the Year awards will receive grants of $50,000 each. Winners of the eight league awards will receive $20,000 grants.

Players Choice balloting was conducted in all Major League clubhouses on Sept. 19, under the supervision of accounting firm KPMG. 

Thomas Harding has covered the Rockies since 2000, and for since 2002. Follow him on Twitter @harding_at_mlb and like his Facebook page. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.