MLB announces Wild Card, Division Series umps

MLB announces Wild Card, Division Series umps

Major League Baseball announced the umpire crews for the 2017 Wild Card Games and Division Series on Monday, with three umpires given their first postseason assignments.

The Wild Card Games will be led by crew chiefs Mike Winters and Gary Cederstrom, while the Division Series crew chiefs will be Ted Barrett, Gerry Davis, Dana DeMuth and Jerry Layne.

AL Wild Card Game: Tuesday, 8 p.m. ET on ESPN | NL Wild Card Game: Wednesday, 8 p.m. ET on TBS

Joining Winters for the American League Wild Card Game on Tuesday will be Alfonso Marquez behind home plate, along with Lance Barksdale, Eric Cooper, Tripp Gibson and John Tumpane. Jim Reynolds will be behind home plate for Wednesday's National League Wild Card Game, as Jordan Baker, Mark Carlson, Chris Guccione and David Rackley round out Cederstrom's crew.

In the AL Division Series presented by Doosan, Barrett will lead the Red Sox-Astros series, while DeMuth will call the Wild Card winner and Cleveland. Joining Barrett will be Dan Bellino, regular-season crew chief Mike Everitt, Marty Foster, Angel Hernandez and Mark Wegner. DeMuth's group will also include Vic Carapazza, Dan Iassogna, Adrian Johnson, regular-season crew chief Jeff Nelson and Brian O'Nora.

For the NL Division Series presented by T-Mobile, Davis will be joined by Phil Cuzzi, regular-season crew chief Bill Miller, Paul Nauert, Alan Porter and Quinn Wolcott for the Wild Card winner and the Dodgers. Layne will be joined by Cory Blaser, regular-season crew chief Fieldin Culbreth, Laz Diaz, Ron Kulpa and Will Little for the Cubs-Nationals series.

This will be the 14th Division Series for Davis, who has worked 133 postseason games, the most in baseball history. This will also be the first postseason assignment for Gibson, Tumpane and Baker.

The Replay Officials during the Division Series will be Greg Gibson, regular-season crew chief Tom Hallion, James Hoye and Tim Timmons.

Ben Weinrib is a reporter for based in Cleveland. Follow him on Twitter at @benweinrib. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.