Khris Davis & Ryon Healy named to Silver Slugger watchlist

Louisville Slugger has announced that both Khris Davis and Ryon Healy have been named to their Silver Slugger Award watchlist. The Silver Slugger Award is given to the best offensive player at each position in both the American and National League, as chosen by MLB managers and coaches.

Entering games on Sept. 15, Davis ranked second in the American League with 39 home runs, third with 102 RBI, and fifth with 66 extra base hits. Davis also led the AL in go-ahead home runs (18) and go-ahead RBI (28). No player in baseball hit more home runs over the last two seasons than Davis (81).

For the season, Healy is hitting .269 with a .761 OPS, 25 home runs and 75 RBI. Against left-handed pitchers, Healy is hitting .320 with an .896 OPS in 127 plate appearances. Among AL designated hitters, Healy ranks second in hits (142) and doubles (26), third in runs scored (62), and fourth in home runs (25), RBI (75), and walks (20).

The Silver Slugger ballots have been delivered to the league's managers and coaches, and the winners will be announced in early November on MLB Network.

Full American League watchlist:

1B - Eric Hosmer (KC), Justin Smoak (TOR), José Abreu (CWS), Yuli Gurriel (HOU), Logan Morrison (TB)

2B Jose Altuve (HOU), Jonathan Schoop (BAL), Brian Dozier (MIN), Whit Merrifield (KC), Robinson Canó (SEA)

3B  José Ramírez (CLE), Manny Machado (BAL), Alex Bregman (HOU), Miguel Sanó (MIN), Joey Gallo (TEX), Mike Moustakas (KC)

SS Elvis Andrus (TEX), Didi Gregorius (NYY), Andrelton Simmons (LAA), Francisco Lindor (CLE), Tim Beckham (BAL), Carlos Correa (HOU)

OF Mike Trout (LAA), Justin Upton (LAA), Mookie Betts (BOS), Adam Jones (BAL), George Springer (HOU), Aaron Judge (NYY), Corey Dickerson (TB), Trey Mancini (BAL), Steven Souza Jr. (TB), Khris Davis (OAK)

C - Salvador Perez (KC), Gary Sánchez (NYY), Mike Zunino (SEA), Brian McCann (HOU), Wellington Castillo (BAL)

DH Edwin Encarnacion (CLE), Nelson Cruz (SEA), Ryon Healy (OAK), Kendrys Morales (TOR), Albert Pujols (LAA)