Rays announce 2018 season schedule

Tampa Bay opens up with home slate vs. Red Sox on March 29

Rays announce 2018 season schedule

The Rays' 2018 schedule was released on Tuesday, and they'll open the season against the Red Sox when they host their division rivals at Tropicana Field on March 29.

This marks the ninth consecutive season Tampa Bay will play at home on Opening Day, and the third time the Rays have hosted the Red Sox for their home opener.

Rays' 2018 season schedule 

Included in next year's schedule are 20 Interleague games, and Tampa Bay will oppose all five teams from the National League East.

The Rays are scheduled to host the Phillies (April 13-15), the Braves (May 8-9), the Nationals (June 25-26) and the Marlins (July 20-22). They will play Interleague road series against the Nationals (June 5-6), Marlins (July 2-4), Mets (July 6-8) and Braves (August 28-29). The latter series will be their first visit to SunTrust Park.

The Rays will play 19 games against each of their American League East rivals, and they will play home openers at three ballparks: Tropicana Field, Yankee Stadium (April 2) and Fenway Park (April 5).

The Rays will be on the road on Memorial Day, May 28, when they play in Oakland; they will be on the road on July 4th, when they play in Miami; and they'll also be on the road for Labor Day, when they play in Toronto on Sept. 3.

The Rays close out the 2018 home schedule with a seven-game homestand against the Yankees (Sept. 24-27) and Blue Jays (Sept. 28-30).

Season tickets for 2018 are on sale now and may be purchased online at raysbaseball.com/seasontickets or by calling 888-FAN-RAYS.

The Rays' schedule is subject to change, and game times will be announced at a later date.

Bill Chastain has covered the Rays for MLB.com since 2005. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.