Kemp, Kershaw could join list of dynamic duos

Kemp, Kershaw could join list of dynamic duos

Kemp, Kershaw could join list of dynamic duos
A few Dodgers greats could soon have company if Matt Kemp and Clayton Kershaw can bring home some prestigious hardware at the end of this season.

If Kemp wins the National League Most Valuable Player, and Kershaw the league's Cy Young Award, they'll join an illustrious list of superstar duos to accomplish the feat.

Kemp and Kershaw would stand alongside former Dodgers stars Kirk Gibson and Orel Hershiser (1988), Steve Garvey and Mike Marshall (1974) and Maury Wills and Don Drysdale (1962) as teammates to have brought home MVP and Cy Young awards in the same season.

Hall of Famer Sandy Koufax was so spectacular in 1963 -- when there was only one Cy Young Award for all of baseball -- that he collected both the MVP and Cy Young himself. Don Newcombe did the same for the Brooklyn Dodgers in 1956 -- the first year of the Cy Young Award,

It's a feat -- not a rare one, per se -- that has happened outside of Los Angeles, too.

Since the turn of the millennium, three sets of teammates have hoarded the hardware -- Justin Morneau and Johan Santana (with the Twins in 2006), Albert Pujols and Chris Carpenter (Cardinals, '05) and Miguel Tejada and Barry Zito (A's, '02).

Other than Koufax and Newcombe, Dennis Eckersley (A's, 1992), Roger Clemens (Red Sox, '86), Willie Hernandez (Tigers, '84), Rollie Fingers (Brewers, '81) and Vida Blue (Oakland, '71) each won both awards.

In 1968 -- dubbed the Year of the Pitcher -- Tigers hurler Denny McLain won the AL MVP and Cy Young Award while St. Louis ace Bob Gibson took both honors in the NL.

Kemp -- who needs two more homers in the Dodgers' final two games to become the fifth all-time member of the 40/40 club -- is a threat to notch baseball's first Triple Crown since Boston's Carl Yastrzemski did it in 1967 (the Boston great and teammate Jim Lonborg also happened to win MVP and Cy Young honors that season) and the NL's first Triple Crown since Joe Medwick did it in 1937.

Kershaw is tied with Arizona's Ian Kennedy for the league lead in wins (21), and leads the NL in strikeouts (248), ERA (2.28) and WHIP (0.977).

The awards are typically announced in mid- to late-November.

Below is a list of all instances in which the MVP and Cy Young Award have been won by one team's player or players in the same season:

Year Team - Players (MVP/Cy Young)

2006 Twins - Justin Morneau/Johan Santana
2005 Cardinals - Albert Pujols/Chris Carpenter
2002 A's - Miguel Tejada/Barry Zito
1993 White Sox - Frank Thomas/Jack McDowell
1992 A's - Dennis Eckersley/Dennis Eckersley
1991 Braves - Terry Pendleton/Tom Glavine
1990 Pirates - Barry Bonds/Doug Drabek
1990 A's - Rickey Henderson/Bob Welch
1988 Dodgers - Kirk Gibson/Orel Hershiser
1986 Red Sox - Roger Clemens/Roger Clemens
1984 Cubs - Ryne Sandberg/Rick Sutcliffe
1984 Tigers - Willie Hernandez/Willie Hernandez
1982 Brewers - Robin Yount/Pete Vuckovich
1981 Brewers - Rollie Fingers/Rollie Fingers
1980 Phillies - Mike Schmidt/Steve Carlton
1974 Dodgers - Steve Garvey/Mike Marshall
1971 A's - Vida Blue/Vida Blue
1968 Tigers - Denny McLain/Denny McLain
1968 Cardinals - Bob Gibson/Bob Gibson
1967 Red Sox - Carl Yastrzemski/Jim Lonborg
1963 Dodgers - Sandy Koufax/Sandy Koufax
1962 Dodgers - Maury Wills/Don Drysdale
1961 Yankees - Roger Maris/Whitey Ford
1960 Pirates - Dick Groat/Vern Law
1959 White Sox - Nellie Fox/Early Wynn
1957 Braves - Hank Aaron/Warren Spahn
1956 Dodgers - Don Newcombe/Don Newcombe

Joey Nowak is a reporter for Follow him on Twitter at @joeynowak.‬ This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.