Major League Baseball announces nominees for the 2017 Roberto Clemente Award

Players Will Be Recognized for Community & Philanthropic Efforts As Part of the 16th Annual Roberto Clemente Day on September 6th

The thirty Club nominees for the 2017 Roberto Clemente Award, the most prominent individual player award from Major League Baseball, were announced today. The Roberto Clemente Award is the annual recognition of a player who best represents the game of Baseball through extraordinary character, community involvement, philanthropy and positive contributions, both on and off the field.

The list of Club nominees, which includes seven 2017 MLB All-Stars, features players whose various involvements in the community focus on important issues ranging from awareness & fundraising of childhood cancer and other illnesses, education, care for veterans, outreach to underserved children & communities in the United States and abroad, and more.

Each Club nominates one current player to be considered for the Roberto Clemente Award in tribute to Clemente's achievements and character. Wednesday, September 6th marks the sixteenth annual Roberto Clemente Day, which was established by Major League Baseball to honor Clemente's legacy and to officially acknowledge local Club nominees of the Roberto Clemente Award.

The 30 Club nominees of the 2017 Roberto Clemente Award feature seven 2017 MLB All-Stars (*=MLB All-Star)

Arizona Diamondbacks - Paul Goldschmidt*
Atlanta Braves - Jason Motte
Baltimore Orioles - Chris Davis
Boston Red Sox - Rick Porcello
Chicago Cubs - Anthony Rizzo
Chicago White Sox - José Abreu
Cincinnati Reds - Scooter Gennett
Cleveland Indians - Carlos Carrasco
Colorado Rockies - Ian Desmond
Detroit Tigers - Miguel Cabrera
Houston Astros - Jose Altuve*
Kansas City Royals - Drew Butera
Los Angeles Angels - Cameron Maybin+
Los Angeles Dodgers - Justin Turner*
Miami Marlins - Dee Gordon
Milwaukee Brewers - Matt Garza
Minnesota Twins - Joe Mauer
New York Mets - T.J. Rivera
New York Yankees - Brett Gardner
Oakland Athletics - Liam Hendriks
Philadelphia Phillies - Cameron Rupp
Pittsburgh Pirates - Josh Harrison*
St. Louis Cardinals - Adam Wainwright
San Diego Padres - Hunter Renfroe
San Francisco Giants - Buster Posey*
Seattle Mariners - Robinson Canó*
Tampa Bay Rays - Evan Longoria
Texas Rangers - Cole Hamels
Toronto Blue Jays - Marcus Stroman
Washington Nationals - Ryan Zimmerman*

+Remains the Angels' nominee despite changing teams via waivers on 8/31.
More information can be found at
Clubs playing at home on Wednesday, September 6th will recognize their local nominees as part of Roberto Clemente Day ceremonies. Visiting Clubs will honor their nominees on a subsequent home stand. As part of the league-wide celebration, the Roberto Clemente Day logo will appear on the bases and official dugout lineup cards and a special tribute video will be played in ballparks.

The league-wide winner of the Roberto Clemente Award, who will be announced during the 2017 World Series, will be selected among the group of nominees via a blue ribbon panel that includes individuals connected to the game. The blue ribbon panel includes Baseball Commissioner Robert D. Manfred, Jr., representatives from MLB-affiliated networks (MLB Network, FOX Sports, ESPN and TBS) and MLB Advanced Media, and Vera Clemente (the late Roberto's wife). Beginning the day after the Regular Season ends, fans can vote for the overall winner of the Roberto Clemente Award via a dedicated website. The site will feature bios of each of the nominees and will allow fans to easily vote by clicking on the respective nominee's name. The winner of the fan voting, which will run from Monday, October 2nd through Friday, October 6th, will count as one vote among those cast by the blue ribbon panel. Additional information about fan voting will be shared via and MLB social media channels.   

The concept of honoring Major League players for their philanthropic work was created in 1971 as the "Commissioner's Award." The recognition was renamed to the "Roberto Clemente Award" in 1973 in honor of the Hall of Famer and 15-time All-Star who died in a plane crash on New Year's Eve 1972 while attempting to deliver supplies to earthquake victims in Nicaragua. Major League Baseball has commemorated Roberto Clemente Day each September since 2002.

The distinguished list of past Roberto Clemente Award winners includes 16 members of the National Baseball Hall of Fame:

1971 Willie Mays+**
1972 Brooks Robinson+**
1973 Al Kaline+
1974 Willie Stargell+
1975 Lou Brock+
1976 Pete Rose
1977 Rod Carew+
1978 Greg Luzinksi
1979 Andre Thornton
1980 Phil Niekro+
1981 Steve Garvey
1982 Ken Singleton
1983 Cecil Cooper
1984 Ron Guidry
1985 Don Baylor
1986 Garry Maddox
1987 Rick Sutcliffe
1988 Dale Murphy
1989 Gary Carter+
1990 Dave Stewart
1991 Harold Reynolds
1992 Cal Ripken Jr.+
1993 Barry Larkin+
1994 Dave Winfield+
1995 Ozzie Smith+
1996 Kirby Puckett+
1997 Eric Davis
1998 Sammy Sosa
1999 Tony Gwynn+
2000 Al Leiter
2001 Curt Schilling
2002 Jim Thome
2003 Jamie Moyer
2004 Edgar Martinez
2005 John Smoltz+
2006 Carlos Delgado
2007 Craig Biggio+
2008 Albert Pujols
2009 Derek Jeter
2010 Tim Wakefield
2011 David Ortiz
2012 Clayton Kershaw
2013 Carlos Beltran
2014 Paul Konerko*
2014 Jimmy Rollins*
2015 Andrew McCutchen
2016 Carlos Granderson

+ Member of The National Baseball Hall of Fame
* Co-winner
** Originally known as the Commissioner's Award (prior to 1973)