Mariners game in Kansas City postponed by rain; teams will play traditional doubleheader on Sunday

Seattle's First rain out since April 30, 2014 and first in Kansas City since Aug. 19, 2004

KANSAS CITY, MO - The Seattle Mariners game at the Kansas City Royals, scheduled for today, Saturday, August 5 at 6:15 pm (CT)/4:15 pm (PT), has been cancelled due to inclement weather.

The game will be made up as part of a traditional (single admission) doubleheader tomorrow, Sunday, August 6, beginning at 1:15 pm (CT)/11:15 am (PT).

Both games will be televised on ROOT SPORTS and broadcast by 710 ESPN Seattle and the Mariners radio network.

This is Seattle's first postponement since being rained out in New York on April 30, 2014. Seattle had played 572 consecutive scheduled games since that rainout, the longest active streak in the Majors.

Seattle had not been rained out in Kansas City since Aug. 19, 2004.

Left-handed pitcher Marco Gonzales will make his first start with Seattle in Game #1, while right-handed pitcher Erasmo Ramirez is schedule to start the nightcap.