Commissioner Announces Reconstituted Competition Committee

Baseball Commissioner Robert D. Manfred, Jr. today announced the composition of a reconstituted Competition Committee, which is charged with studying all aspects of the game and advising the Commissioner and Club Owners on on-field matters. Commissioner Manfred made the announcement at the conclusion of the quarterly MLB owners meetings in New York.

The membership of the Competition Committee includes:

· Sandy Alderson - General Manager, New York Mets

· Roberto Alomar - Hall of Famer and Special Consultant to MLB

· Chris Antonetti - President, Baseball Operations, Cleveland Indians

· Frank Coonelly - President, Pittsburgh Pirates

· Ray Davis - Co-Chairman & Managing Partner, Texas Rangers

· Jerry Dipoto - Executive Vice President & General Manager, Seattle Mariners

· Theo Epstein - President, Baseball Operations, Chicago Cubs

· Joe Girardi - Manager, New York Yankees

· Mark Lerner - Principal Owner, Washington Nationals

· Mike Matheny - Manager, St. Louis Cardinals

· Dave Roberts - Manager, Los Angeles Dodgers

· David Samson - President, Miami Marlins

· Mark Shapiro - President & CEO, Toronto Blue Jays

· Buck Showalter - Manager, Baltimore Orioles

· John Smoltz - Hall of Famer and Analyst, FOX Sports and MLB Network

· Tom Werner - Chairman, Boston Red Sox

Commissioner Manfred said: "The Competition Committee includes some of the best minds in our game, from a variety of positions and perspectives. The conversations with this group will be rooted in respect for the qualities that make baseball unique and a willingness to consider ways in which we can make the game even better."