Umpiring crews set for ALDS, NLDS

Umpiring crews set for ALDS, NLDS

CLEVELAND -- The final journey of Bruce Froemming's historic run as an umpire begins Thursday in Cleveland, as the men in blue for the respective Division Series were announced on Tuesday evening.

Froemming, who is retiring after serving 37 years as an umpire, was selected as one of four crew chiefs for the Division Series. Froemming has the longest period of consecutive years of service by an umpire in Major League history and will be appearing in his 24th postseason and ninth Division Series. Froemming will start behind the plate for the C.C. Sabathia-Chien Ming Wang matchup, joined by Laz Diaz, Ron Kulpa, Fieldin Culbreath, Gerry Davis and Jim Wolf.

Wolf makes his first Division Series appearance, while Davis works his sixth.

Dale Scott, a 22-year-veteran, will oversee the crew working the Rockies-Phillies series. Jim Reynolds, Chuck Meriwether (six previous Division Series appearances), Jeff Kellogg, Derryl Cousins and Ed Hickox complete Scott's crew, with Hickox working through his first postseason assignment.

Gary Darling has been tabbed as the crew chief for the Boston-Los Angeles series, beginning on Wednesday. The 21-year-veteran, who has worked six previous Division Series, also will have Dan Iassogna, Brian Runge, Ted Barrett, Tim Tschida and CB Bucknor on the series. Bucknor makes his postseason debut.

Wednesday's Cubs-Diamondbacks opener features crew chief Ed Montague behind the plate, with the 32-year-veteran making his seventh Division Series appearance and working his 20th postseason assignment overall. Sam Holbrook, Greg Gibson, Mike Everitt, Mike Reilly and Mark Carlson complete Montague's crew, with Carlson making his Division Series debut.

Umpires for the League Championship Series and the 103rd World Series will be announced when assignments have been made.

Scott Merkin is a reporter for This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.