15 players reportedly confirmed for Israel's WBC roster

15 players reportedly confirmed for Israel's WBC roster

A number of players have been confirmed for Team Israel for the 2017 World Baseball Classic. According to Scott Barancik of Jewish Baseball News, the team's general manager Peter Kurz said his squad has 15 commitments for the tournament.

The list includes the Mets' Ty Kelly, as well as several free agents with big league experience -- Sam Fuld, Ike Davis, Jason Marquis, Jeremy Bleich, Nate Freiman and Josh Zeid. Eight Minor Leaguers round out the confirmed roster -- Ryan Lavarnway (A's), Cody Decker (Brewers), Tyler Krieger (Indians), Nick Rickles (Nationals), Corey Baker (Cardinals), Dean Kremer (Dodgers), Jake Kalish (Royals) and Alex Katz (White Sox).

The report names the Dodgers' Joc Pederson, the Indians' Jason Kipnis, the Mariners' Danny Valencia and free agent Craig Breslow as possible additions to the team. Any player eligible for Israeli citizenship, even if he doesn't have it, is eligible to represent the nation at the Classic.

The Israeli team will open play in Pool A on March 6 in Seoul, South Korea, against the host country. This will be Israel's first appearance in the main tournament. The team competed at the Classic qualifier in 2013, but did not advance.

Chad Thornburg is a reporter for MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.