Tigers announce spring broadcast schedule

Club will telecast 7 Grapefruit League games; 21 radio broadcasts

Tigers announce spring broadcast schedule

DETROIT -- The Tigers report to Lakeland, Fla., for Spring Training in four weeks, but they'll be a familiar sight -- and sound -- back in Michigan. The team will telecast seven Grapefruit League games on Fox Sports Detroit, and 21 radio broadcasts on 97.1 WXYT.

The radio duo of Dan Dickerson and Jim Price returns for a 15th season, while Mario Impemba will call the play-by-play on FSD. Rod Allen and Kirk Gibson will alternate as analysts.

The radio broadcast schedule begins with the Grapefruit League opener on Feb. 24 against the Orioles at renovated Publix Field at Joker Marchant Stadium, beginning a stretch of four consecutive radio broadcasts. The first three will air on 97.1 FM, with the Tigers' Feb. 27 game against the Braves to be broadcast on AM 1270.

Thirteen of the Tigers' first 17 Grapefruit League contests will be broadcast on one of the two stations. After a mid-March lull, the broadcasts will pick back up for the home stretch, with six radio broadcasts over the final week and a half.

The FOX Sports Detroit telecast schedule begins on March 11, when the Tigers visit the Yankees in Tampa. It will be simulcast from the YES Network. The next day, the FSD crew goes to work as the Tigers welcome the Mets to Lakeland.

Four of the Tigers' final 10 games will be on FOX Sports Detroit, including a 6:05 p.m. ET matchup against the Braves at Disney World's Champion Stadium on March 23.

A few other games are likely to be picked up by MLB Network and ESPN, which have yet to announce their Spring Training slates. MLB Network can select broadcasts from other markets. Several, too, are likely to end up on MLB.TV, while MLB Gameday Audio is expected to carry Tigers radio broadcasts once again.

Here's the full Tigers radio and television broadcast slate (all broadcasts at 1 p.m. ET unless otherwise noted):

Friday, Feb. 24 vs. Orioles (97.1)

Saturday, Feb. 25 vs. Astros (97.1)

Sunday, Feb. 26 at Mets (97.1)

Monday, Feb. 27 at Braves (1270)

Wednesday, March 1 vs. Nationals (1270)

Thursday, March 2 vs. Pirates (1270)

Saturday, March 4 vs. Yankees (97.1)

Sunday, March 5 at Phillies (97.1)

Monday, March 6 vs. Orioles (1270)

Tuesday, March 7 vs. Phillies (1270)

Friday, March 10 vs. Blue Jays (1270)

Saturday, March 11 at Yankees (97.1/FSD)

Sunday, March 12 vs. Mets (1270/FSD)

Wednesday, March 15 vs. Braves (1270)

Friday, March 17 vs. Yankees (FSD)

Monday, March 20 vs. Mets (1270)

Thursday, March 23 at Braves, 6:05 (FSD)

Friday, March 24 vs. Braves (1270/FSD)

Saturday, March 25 at Pirates (97.1)

Sunday, March 26 vs. Blue Jays (1270/FSD)

Tuesday, March 28 at Yankees, 6:35 (1270)

Wednesday, March 29 vs. Phillies (1270/FSD)

Saturday, April 1 at Marlins (97.1)

Jason Beck has covered the Tigers for MLB.com since 2002. Read Beck's Blog, follow him on Twitter @beckjason and listen to his podcast. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.