Rangers finalize Minor League staffs for 2017

Owen slated to manage the club's Class A Hickory affiliate

Rangers finalize Minor League staffs for 2017

ARLINGTON -- Spike Owen, who was the Rangers' interim third-base coach this past season, has accepted a job as manager of Class A Hickory. Owen served as third-base coach while Tony Beasley was recovering from rectal cancer surgery.

Owen last managed at Class A Advanced High Desert in 2015. He was supposed to manage at Hickory before replacing Beasley, who is expected to resume his duties for the 2017 season.

Matt Hagen, who was a coach at Hickory last season, will manage Class A Spokane. The Rangers will return all of their other Minor League managers: Jason Wood at Triple-A Round Rock, Joe Mikulik at Double-A Frisco, Howard Johnson at Class A Advanced Down East, Matt Siegel with the Arizona Rookie League Rangers and Carlos Cardoza in the Dominican Republic.

Damon Mashore, who is the brother of assistant hitting coach Justin Mashore, has been hired as the Rangers' baserunning coordinator. He spent the past two seasons in the Dodgers system as a hitting coordinator.

The Rangers return all of their other field coordinators: Corey Ragsdale (field), Danny Clark (pitching), Josue Perez (hitting), Chris Briones (catching), Dwayne Murphy (outfield), Jeff Andrews (assistant pitching), and Kenny Holmberg (infield). Mark Connor will serve as a special assistant for pitching and Josiah Igono is director of peak performance.

The coaching staff at Round Rock will be Greg Hibbard (pitching), Geno Petralli and Jim Presley. The Double-A coaching staff will be Brian Shouse (pitching) and Jason Hart. At Class A Down East it will be Steve Mintz (pitching) and Bobby Rose while Hickory will have Jose Jaimes (pitching), Kenny Hook and Sharnol Adriana.

Class A Spokane will have Joey Seaver (pitching), Chase Lambin and Turtle Thomas while the Arizona Rangers will have Henderson Lugo (pitching), John Arnold (pitching), Jared Goedert and Salomon Manriquez. The Dominican coaching staff will be Jesus Delgado (pitching), Pablo Blanco (pitching), Chad Comer, Alex Infante, Chu Ovalle and Roberto De La Rosa.

The trainers will be Carlos Olivas (Round Rock), Jacob Newburn (Frisco), Alex Rodriguez (Down East), Dustin Vissering (Hickory), Luke Teeters (Spokane), Bronson Santillan (Arizona) and Aliks Lorie and Jeff Case (Dominican Republic).

The strength coaches will be Eric McMahon (Round Rock), Wade Lamont (Frisco), Al Sandoval (Down East), Adam Noel (Hickory), Ed Yong (Spokane) and Eduardo Thomas (Dominican).

Jason Roberts will serve as Minor League medical coordinator, assisted by Chris Olson. Sean Fields and Keith Comstock will be the rehab coordinators and Napoleon Pichardo and Ric Mabie will be the strength and conditioning coordinators.

Stephanie Fernandes is the director of nutrition. Stosh Hoover will be the coordinator of Arizona operations and Chris Ackerman will be the Minor League equipment manager.

T.R. Sullivan has covered the Rangers since 1989, and for MLB.com since 2006. Follow him on Twitter @Sullivan_Ranger and listen to his podcast. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.