Hall of Famer Vin Scully To Receive Presidential Medal of Freedom November 22

LOS ANGELES -Today, President Barack Obama named 21 recipients of the Presidential Medal of Freedom which included Hall of Famer Vin Scully who this year completed his 67th and final season in the broadcast booth for the Dodgers. The Presidential Medal of Freedom is the nation's highest civilian honor, presented to individuals who have made especially meritorious contributions to the security or national interests of the United States, to world peace, or to cultural or other significant public or private endeavors. The awards will be presented at the White House on November 22.

President Obama said, "The Presidential Medal of Freedom is not just our nation's highest civilian honor - it's a tribute to the idea that all of us, no matter where we come from, have the opportunity to change this country for the better. From scientists, philanthropists, and public servants to activists, athletes, and artists, these 21 individuals have helped push America forward, inspiring millions of people around the world along the way."

Scully will join the following individuals in being awarded the Presidential Medal of Freedom: Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Elouise Cobell (posthumous), Ellen DeGeneres, Robert De Niro, Richard Garwin, Bill and Melinda Gates, Frank Gehry, Margaret H. Hamilton, Tom Hanks, Grace Hopper (posthumous), Michael Jordan, Maya Lin, Lorne Michaels, Newt Minow, Eduardo Padrón, Robert Redford, Diana Ross, Bruce Springsteen and Cicely Tyson.

The Presidential Medal of Freedom ceremony will be streamed live at: www.whitehouse.gov/live. The White House's official press release on this event can be found at: https://www.whitehouse.gov/the-press-office/2016/11/16/president-obama-names-recipients-presidential-medal-freedom.