A look at the Phils' Cy Young Award winners

A look at the Phils' Cy Young Award winners

Four different Phillies pitchers have won the Cy Young Award, voted annually by the Baseball Writers' Association of America. Two finished second in the voting.

From 1956-66, there was only one Cy Young Award winner for the Major Leagues. Beginning in '67, one was selected for each league.

Philadelphia Phillies alumni

The award is named in honor of Denton (Cy) Young, who pitched in the Majors for 22 seasons (1890-1911) with Cleveland (American League and National League), St. Louis (NL) and Boston (AL and NL). A right-hander, Young won 20 or more games 15 times and won over 30 games five times. In 906 career games, he posted a 511-316 record and was inducted into the Baseball Hall of Fame in 1937.

A unanimous selection as the Cy Young Award winner with 120 points; Steve Blass of the Pittsburgh Pirates was second with 25.

Pitching for a last-place team, Lefty had one of the most dominating seasons of any pitcher. He led the league with 27 wins (10 losses), a 1.97 ERA, 41 games started, 30 complete games, 346 1/3 innings, 257 hits and 310 strikeouts. Eight of his 27 wins were shutouts. He won a club-record 15 consecutive games, and he set an MLB record for percentage of team's games won at 45.8 percent.

Carlton signed a $165,000 contract prior to the 1973 season, making him the highest-paid pitcher in MLB.

Received 104 points; Tommy John, left-hander from the Los Angeles Dodgers, was a distant runner-up with 54.

Lefty led the league with 23 wins (10 losses), fanning 198 in 283 innings while completing 17 of his 36 starts. He led the NL with 22 pickoffs, and his 2.64 ERA ranked fourth in the league. He set a Veterans Stadium record for wins at 17 (only 3 losses).

Won the award in easy fashion again, 118 points to 55 for Jerry Reuss, Los Angeles Dodgers.

In pitching the Phillies to the National League East title, Lefty had another big season. He led the league in wins with 24 (9 losses), 304 innings and 286 strikeouts. He became baseball's all-time strikeout leader for a left-handed pitcher on July 6.

Lefty became baseball's first four-time Cy Young Award winner, earning 112 points to 29 for right-hander Steve Rogers of the Montreal Expos.

He again dominated the league, leading in games won, 23 (11 losses), 19 complete games, six shutouts, 295 2/3 innings, 253 hits allowed and 286 strikeouts. He was baseball's lone 20-game winner and ended up with the most wins in NL history for his age (37). He also became only the second player to win a major award 10 years apart. Willie Mays was the NL Most Valuable Player Award winner in 1954 and '65.

The right-hander became the second straight winner for the Phillies, 103 points to 61 for Cincinnati Reds right-hander Mario Soto.

He led the league with 19 wins (6 losses) and a .760 percentage, a new Phillies record. His 2.37 ERA finished second in the NL, and he won 13 of 14 decisions after the All-Star break, including seven in a row as the Phillies won the NL East.

"Bedrock" won in the closest balloting ever with 57 points to 55 for Rick Sutcliffe of the Chicago Cubs and 54 for Rick Reuschel of the Pittsburgh Pirates/San Francisco Giants.

He became the first Phillies closer to win the award. Forty saves were tops in the Majors, a first for a Phillies reliever. He set an MLB record with 13 consecutive saves, May 25-June 30, and he had a hand in 45 of the Phillies' 80 wins.

A unanimous winner with 224 points, Halladay became the fifth pitcher to win the award in each league. Adam Wainwright of the St. Louis Cardinals finished second with 122 points.

"Doc" finished with a 21-10 record and a 2.44 ERA. His win total was the most for a Phillies pitcher since 1982 (Carlton, 23-11) and was the most for a Phillies right-handed pitcher since '55 (Robin Roberts, 23-14). He led the Majors with 250 2/3 innings, nine complete games and four shutouts and walked only 30 batters. He tossed the second perfect game in Phillies history, May 29, at Miami.

Jim Bunning (1967, Mike McCormick)
Halladay (2011, Clayton Kershaw)

Larry Shenk is in charge of alumni relations and team historian for the Phillies. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.