Banister finishes second in AL MOY vote

Banister finishes second in AL MOY vote

ARLINGTON -- Rangers manager Jeff Banister finished second to Terry Francona of the Indians in voting for the American League Manager of the Year by the Baseball Writers' Association of America.

Banister was hoping to become the second manager to win the award in consecutive seasons, following Bobby Cox of the Braves (2004-05). Banister won in 2015 and is the first Rangers manager to finish second since Ron Washington in 2010.

All-time winners

Francona was the overwhelming winner among the 30 voters, who listed their top three choices. A nominee gets five points for first place, three for second and one for third. Francona received 22 first-place votes, five second and three third, for 128 points.

Banister received four first-place votes, 12 second and eight third, for 64 points.

Buck Showalter of the Orioles finished third, and John Farrell of the Red Sox finished fourth. They each received two first-place votes.

Banister received strong consideration after leading the Rangers to a 95-67 record and a first-place finish in the AL West. It was their second straight division title and seventh in club history.

The Indians went from 81-80 in 2014 to 94-68 this past season to win the AL Central under Francona. Voters considered only the regular season, and balloting was completed before the postseason began.

Banister was the only member of the Rangers to be a finalist for a BBWAA award. The other awards are Rookie of the Year, Cy Young and Most Valuable Player.

Esurance MLB Awards week concludes Friday on MLB Network and at 8 p.m. ET with the MLB Awards. Categories include Best Major Leaguer, Hitter, Pitcher, Rookie, Executive and Manager.

T.R. Sullivan has covered the Rangers since 1989, and for since 2006. Follow him on Twitter @Sullivan_Ranger and listen to his podcast. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.