Royals announce 2017 Spring Training schedule

The Kansas City Royals announced their 2017 Spring Training schedule today, with the club opening its 15th season in the Cactus League as the "visiting team" against its Surprise complex mates, the Texas Rangers, on Saturday, February 25.

Kansas City's 35-game Spring Training schedule features 16 home games at Surprise Stadium, plus one additional contest (February 25 vs. Texas) as the visiting team. The first six home games will start at 2:05 p.m. CT. The Friday, March 10 contest vs. Oakland will start at 7:05 p.m. CT and be the only evening home game of the spring. Following Daylight Savings on March 12, all remaining home contests will begin at 3:05 p.m. CT, until the Surprise finale vs. Texas on March 29, which begins at 2:05 p.m. CT.

The Royals will host every Cactus League member at least once during the spring, highlighted by visits from the defending World Champion Chicago Cubs on Wednesday, March 1 (2:05 p.m. CT) and the defending AL Champion Cleveland Indians on Saturday, March 18 (3:05 p.m. CT). KC will also host the Venezuelan National Team on Wednesday, March 8 (2:05 p.m. CT) as it prepares for the 2017 World Baseball Classic. The Royals will complete their exhibition schedule with a two-game series against the Rangers at Globe Life Park on Friday, March 31 (7:05 p.m.) and Saturday, April 1 (1:05 p.m.) before opening the regular season on Monday, April 3 in Minnesota.

Individual Spring Training game tickets go on sale via an online pre-sale on Saturday, December 10 through tickets.com. The Surprise Recreation Campus will accept mail orders as well as online orders. To obtain a ticket brochure, fans can call (623) 222-2222 or visit www.surprisespringtraining.com online. The Surprise Recreation Campus Box Office will open at 7 a.m. local time on Wednesday, January 7 for walk-up purchases. The Surprise Recreation Campus will apply dynamic pricing for select games with ticket prices determined by demand. Fans with questions about Spring Training tickets may call (623) 222-2222, beginning today.

Pitchers and catchers will report to Surprise on Monday, February 13. Workouts for pitchers begin the following day, Tuesday, February 14. The remainder of the squad will report on Thursday, February 16 and begin workouts for the 2017 campaign on Friday, February 17.

A complete Spring Training schedule is attached. For more information, contact the Royals Media Relations Department at (816) 921-8000.