A look at the Phillies' top Gold Glove winners

A look at the Phillies' top Gold Glove winners

Rawlings, a major manufacturer of baseball gloves, created the Gold Glove Award in 1957 to honor the best fielders at each position. One Gold Glove was awarded to the top fielder at each position in Major League Baseball that first year. Starting in 1958, awards were given in both the National and American Leagues.

The award represents overall fielding excellence, and it is not based solely on fielding metrics and statistics, nor does it factor offensive production. Managers and coaches in each league vote but cannot include their own players. In 2013, Rawlings added a sabermetric component to the selection process, as part of its collaboration with the Society for American Baseball Research (SABR). The SABR Defensive Index comprises approximately 25 percent of the overall selection total, with the vote of the managers and coaches carrying the majority.

Philadelphia Phillies alumni

Hall of Fame pitcher Greg Maddux has won the most Gold Glove Awards with 18. For the Phillies, Hall of Fame third baseman Mike Schmidt has the honor of the most trophies with 10.

The Phils' first winner was shortstop Bobby Wine in 1963 and their most recent was shortstop Jimmy Rollins in 2012.

So, position by position, here are the most Gold Glove Awards won by the Phillies:

P: Jim Kaat (2)
C: Bob Boone (2)
1B: Bill White (1)
2B: Manny Trillo (3)
SS: Rollins (4)
3B: Schmidt (10)
OF: Garry Maddox (8)
OF: Shane Victorino (3)
OF: Bobby Abreu (1)
OF: Aaron Rowand (1)

Larry Shenk is in charge of alumni relations and team historian for the Phillies. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.