Beltre and Moreland Named Gold Glove Finalists

Rawlings Sporting Goods Company, Inc. a subsidiary Newell Brands (NYSE: NWL), announced today the finalists for the 2016 Rawlings Gold Glove Award®, honoring the best individual fielding performances at each position in the American League™ and National League™. Winners will be unveiled during a live, one-hour "Baseball Tonight - The 2016 Rawlings Gold Glove Award® Announcement Show" on ESPN Tuesday, November 8, 2016, at 8pm ET/7pm CT.

While the award originated in 1957, Rawlings first began highlighting the top-three defenders at each position in 2011. Since then, only five players have been named a Rawlings Gold Glove Award® finalist each year: Texas third baseman Adrian Beltre, Seattle second baseman Robinson Cano, Kansas City left fielder Alex Gordon, St. Louis catcher Yadier Molina, and Boston second baseman Dustin Pedroia.

A number of players are vying for the designation as the best defender at their respective positions. The Chicago Cubs™ and Detroit Tigers™ lead all teams with four finalists each. The longest, active consecutive streak of Rawlings Gold Glove Award® wins belongs to St. Louis' Molina with eight.

Each manager and up to six coaches on his staff vote from a pool of qualified players in their League, and cannot vote for players from their own team. In 2013, Rawlings added a sabermetric component to the Rawlings Gold Glove Award® selection process, as part of its collaboration with the Society for American Baseball Research (SABR). The SABR Defensive Index comprised of approximately 25 percent of the overall selection total, with the managers and coaches' vote continuing to carry the majority.