Umpires for the 112th World Series announced

John Hirschbeck to serve as crew chief in 2016 Fall Classic

John Hirschbeck, a Major League Umpire for more than 33 years, will serve as the crew chief for the 2016 World Series between the American League Champion Cleveland Indians and the National League Champion Chicago Cubs, Major League Baseball announced today.

Hirschbeck's crew will include Chris Guccione, Sam Holbrook, Marvin Hudson, Tony Randazzo, and regular season crew chiefs Larry Vanover and Joe West. All seven umpires - a group that includes the two rotating Replay Officials for the 2016 World Series - worked the Division Series this Postseason. This assignment will be the 62-year-old Hirschbeck's fifth World Series duties (previous: 1995, 2006, 2010 and 2013), including his third as the Fall Classic crew chief, and the sixth for West, who holds the all-time record for most consecutive years of service (39). West, who has worked the third-most regular season games in Baseball history, called the Fall Classic in 1992, 1997, 2005, 2009 and 2012. This will mark the second World Series for Holbrook (previous: 2010) and the first for Guccione, Hudson, Randazzo and Vanover, who will be behind the plate in Tuesday's Game One at Progressive Field in Cleveland.

In the event that the World Series goes to a Game Seven, each of the seven umpires will be behind home plate in one game. Holbrook will be the Replay Official for Games One and Two and will be assisted by fellow Major League Umpire Todd Tichenor. Beginning with Game Three in Chicago, Holbrook will join the on-field crew and Vanover will become the Replay Official, assisted by Tichenor.

A complete listing of the umpire rotation for the 2016 World Series, which will be exclusively covered by FOX Sports and ESPN Radio, appears below.

Game 1       Umpire (experience)    Previous Career Postseason Assignments

HP                    Larry Vanover^ (24 years)           3 DS; 3 LCS

1B                     Chris Guccione (10 years)           1 WC; 6 DS; 1 LCS

2B                     John Hirschbeck*^ (33.5 years)    1 WC; 10 DS; 5 LCS; 4 WS

3B                     Marvin Hudson (17.5 years)         6 DS; 1 LCS

LF                     Tony Randazzo (17.5 years)              7 DS; 2 LCS

RF                    Joe West^ (39 years)                   2 WC; 8 DS; 9 LCS; 5 WS

Replay               Sam Holbrook (16.5 years)                1 WC; 5 DS; 4 LCS; 1 WS

Replay Official for Games 1-2:           Sam Holbrook (with assistance from Todd Tichenor)

Replay Official for Games 3-7:           Larry Vanover (with assistance from Todd Tichenor)

*indicates World Series Crew Chief                     ^indicates regular season crew chief