Umpires for 2016 League Championship Series announced

Brian Gorman (ALCS) and Gary Cederstrom (NLCS) to serve as crew chiefs

Major League Baseball today announced the umpires who have been assigned to the 2016 League Championship Series. The LCS crew chiefs will be Brian Gorman, who will work the American League Championship Series, and Gary Cederstrom, who will be on the field for the National League Championship Series.

The 2016 ALCS will mark the 20th career Postseason assignment for Gorman, including the sixth LCS for the 25th-year Major League Umpire. Gorman will lead a crew that includes Laz Diaz, Mike Everitt, regular season crew chief Jeff Nelson, Jim Reynolds and Jim Wolf in Games One and Two. Everitt, Nelson and Wolf worked the NL Wild Card Game this Postseason. Major League Umpire Mark Wegner will be the Replay Official for ALCS Games One and Two and will be assisted by fellow Umpire Tripp Gibson. Beginning with Game Three, Wegner will join the on-field crew and Diaz will become the Replay Official, assisted by Gibson. The ALCS, which begins tonight on TBS, will feature the Cleveland Indians and the Toronto Blue Jays.

Cederstrom, a 23-year Major League Umpire, was the home plate umpire and crew chief for the AL Wild Card Game this Postseason. The 2016 NLCS will be the 19thcareer Postseason assignment for the North Dakota native. His crew is comprised by regular season crew chief Ted Barrett, Eric Cooper, Angel Hernandez, Alfonso Marquez and Paul Nauert in Games One and Two. Barrett, Cooper and Bill Welke, who will serve as the Replay Official for NLCS Games One and Two, worked this year's AL Wild Card Game with Cederstrom. Welke will be assisted by Gibson at Replay and, starting with Game Three, will become a part of the on-field crew, while Nauert will shift to Replay duties, assisted by Gibson. The NLCS, which is set to start tomorrow night on FS1, will have the Chicago Cubs meet the Los Angeles Dodgers.

A listing of the rotations assigned to the LCS accompanies this press release.

All ALCS and World Series games will be available live to MLB.TV subscribers who also are authenticated subscribers to the applicable network through a participating pay TV provider. ESPN Radio will provide live national coverage of all 2016 MLB Postseason games. The 2016 Postseason schedule can be accessed at or via the At Bat mobile app.

American League Championship Series between the Toronto Blue Jays and the host Cleveland Indians on TBS:

Game 1 | Umpire | Previous Career Postseason Assignments

HP | Laz Diaz | 5 DS; 2 LCS; 1 WS
1B | Jim Wolf | 1 WC; 4 DS; 1 LCS; 1 WS
2B | Brian Gorman* | 1 WC; 10 DS; 5 LCS; 3 WS   
3B | Jim Reynolds | 1 WC; 6 DS; 2 LCS; 1 WS
LF | Mike Everitt | 2 WC; 8 DS; 5 LCS; 3 WS
RF | Jeff Nelson^ | 3 WC; 6 DS; 6 LCS; 3 WS
Replay | Mark Wegner | 2 WC; 7 DS; 3 LCS; 1 WS
Replay Official:
ALCS: Mark Wegner in Games 1-2; Laz Diaz in Games 3-7
National League Championship Series between the Los Angeles Dodgers and the host Chicago Cubs on FS1:

Game 1 | Umpire | Previous Career Postseason Assignments

HP | Paul Nauert | 6 DS 
1B | Eric Cooper | 2 WC; 9 DS; 2 LCS; 1 WS
2B | Gary Cederstrom* | 2 WC; 7 DS; 6 LCS; 3 WS
3B | Angel Hernandez | 8 DS; 6 LCS; 2 WS
LF | Alfonso Marquez | 7 DS; 3 LCS; 3 WS
RF | Ted Barrett^ | 4 WC; 8 DS; 6 LCS; 3 WS
Replay | Bill Welke | 2 WC; 4 DS; 1 LCS; 1 WS
Replay Official:
NLCS: Bill Welke in Games 1-2; Paul Nauert in Games 3-7
Replay Assistant for Both LCS:
Tripp Gibson