NLDS Game 4 lineups: Cubs vs. Giants

NLDS Game 4 lineups: Cubs vs. Giants

SAN FRANCISCO -- Cubs manager Joe Maddon will go with a more defensive starting lineup tonight in Game 4 of the National League Division Series, starting Jason Heyward in right field and veteran catcher David Ross behind the plate.

John Lackey will make his 21st career postseason start, tops among active pitchers, against the Giants at AT&T Park. First pitch is scheduled for 8:30 p.m. ET/5:30 PT on FS1.

Game Date Matchup Highlights
Gm 1 Oct. 7 CHC 1, SF 0 video
Gm 2 Oct. 8 CHC 5, SF 2 video
Gm 3 Oct. 10 SF 6, CHC, 5 (13) video
Gm 4 Oct. 11 CHC 6, SF 5 video

Chicago leads the best-of-five series, 2-1.

Heyward did not start in Game 3 on Monday, a 6-5 Giants victory, as Maddon opted for more offense, inserting Jorge Soler in left.

The rest of the Cubs lineup is similar to as it has been. Dexter Fowler will lead off and play center field, followed by third baseman Kris Bryant, first baseman Anthony Rizzo, left fielder Ben Zobrist, shortstop Addison Russell, Heyward, second baseman Javier Baez, Ross and Lackey.

Ross, who usually only catches Jon Lester, was paired with Lackey for five games during the regular season. The right-hander gave up 11 runs over 33 innings in those outings, although five of those runs came in one outing on July 5.

For Tuesday's Game 4, the Giants essentially made no changes from the lineup that finished Monday night's Game 3.

In a minor switch, shortstop Brandon Crawford and third baseman Conor Gillaspie occupied the fifth and sixth spots, respectively, in the Giants' Game 4 lineup. On Monday, they were flip-flopped, though left fielder Angel Pagan was the original No. 5 hitter.

Crawford was a nice fit for the fifth spot, having led the Giants with 84 RBIs during the regular season. Of course, Gillaspie has been the club's most productive hitter during the postseason, driving in five of the team's 11 runs through Game 3.

Gregor Blanco, who replaced Pagan in Monday's lineup when the left fielder was scratched with back spasms, started on Tuesday and batted eighth.

Dexter Fowler, CF
Kris Bryant, 3B
Anthony Rizzo, 1B
Ben Zobrist, LF
Addison Russell, SS
Jason Heyward, RF
Javier Baez, 2B
David Ross, C
John Lackey, P

Denard Span, CF
Brandon Belt, 1B
Buster Posey, C
Hunter Pence, RF
Brandon Crawford, SS
Conor Gillaspie, 3B
Joe Panik, 2B
Gregor Blanco, LF
Matt Moore, P

Carrie Muskat has covered the Cubs since 1987, and for since 2001. She writes a blog, Muskat Ramblings. You can follow her on Twitter @CarrieMuskat and listen to her podcast.

Chris Haft has covered the Giants since 2005, and for since 2007. Follow him on Twitter at @sfgiantsbeat and listen to his podcast.

This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.