Fourth annual Bowman Hitting Challenge set for Saturday

Prospects from all 30 teams to compete in Arizona Fall League's unique skills competition

Fourth annual Bowman Hitting Challenge set for Saturday

The 25th Arizona Fall League season will begin on Oct. 11, but fans can get a sneak peek at some top prospects on Saturday in the fourth annual Bowman Hitting Challenge. Young sluggers from all 30 organizations will compete in a unique twist on the conventional home run derby, earning points for not only sending the ball over the fence but also for hitting targets around the field.

Each team's representative will put down four targeted bunts before getting two minutes in a batting-practice setting to spray baseballs all over the park. Last year's winner, Dodgers No. 20 prospect Jacob Scavuzzo, narrowly edged Marlins No. 6 prospect Austin Dean thanks to earning double points on his final swing: the "Bowman Bonus Ball," which is hit off a tee.

Top Royals prospect Hunter Dozier took home the crown in 2014, while D-backs' No. 9 prospect Peter O'Brien -- then with the Yankees' -- won the inaugural contest in '13.

AFL Bowman Hitting Challenge

Not only can 25 of the 30 players be found on their respective organization's Top 30 Prospects list, but five rank among the Top 100 Prospects in baseball -- including No. 1 overall prospect Yoan Moncada.

Here's a complete list of the participants in the order that they'll be hitting along with their club prospect rank where applicable:

Glendale Desert Dogs
Astros: Ramon Laureano (No. 29)
Cardinals: Harrison Bader (No. 3)
Dodgers: Alex Verdugo (No. 3)
Nationals: Drew Ward (No. 10)
White Sox: Zack Collins (No. 2)

Mesa Solar Sox
: Yairo Munoz (No. 7)
Blue Jays: Ryan McBroom (No. 28)
Cubs: Eloy Jimenez (No. 2)
Indians: Bradley Zimmer (No. 1)
Marlins: Brian Anderson (No. 4)
Peoria Javelinas
: Tyler O'Neill (No. 2)
Orioles: D.J. Stewart (No. 12)
Padres: Michael Gettys (No. 10)
Rays: Justin Williams (No. 15)
Reds: Brandon Dixon

Scottsdale Scorpions
Angels: Taylor Ward (No. 3)
Giants: Hunter Cole (No. 21)
Mets: Matt Oberste
Phillies: Mitch Walding
Yankees: Miguel Andujar (No. 7)
Surprise Saguaros
Pirates: Eric Wood
Rangers: Andy Ibanez (No. 2)
Red Sox: Yoan Moncada (No. 1)
Royals: Corey Toups (No. 30)
Twins: Mitch Garver (No. 24)
Salt River Rafters
Braves: Dylan Moore
Brewers: Isan Diaz (No. 8)
D-backs: Dawel Lugo (No. 11)
Rockies: Ryan McMahon (No. 6)
Tigers: Christin Stewart (No. 3)

The event will take place at Salt River Fields at Talking Stick, Spring Training home of the D-backs and the Rockies, starting at 6:35 p.m.