Hank Aaron Award finalists announced

Fans can vote through Oct. 14 on MLB.com and Twitter

Major League Baseball today announced the finalists for the 2016 Hank Aaron Awards, which has recognized the most outstanding offensive performer in each League since it was established in 1999. For the seventh year in a row, Baseball fans have a say in the winners of this prestigious award. Fans can vote for their American and National League selections online at MLB.com and the 30 Club sites through October 14. For the first time in the award's history, fans can also cast their votes on Twitter by using a unique hashtag for each finalist. Fourteen finalists were named All-Stars this year and overall the 30 finalists combined to have been named All-Stars 76 times. The group also features 18 players under the age of 30, with 11 aged 25 or younger. The finalists for the 2016 Hank Aaron Award are:

American League
Baltimore Orioles: Mark Trumbo (#VoteTrumbo)
Boston Red Sox: David Ortiz (#VotePapi)
Chicago White Sox: José Abreu (#VoteAbreu)
Cleveland Indians: José Ramírez (#VoteJRam)
Detroit Tigers: Miguel Cabrera (#VoteMiggy)
Houston Astros: Jose Altuve (#VoteAltuve)
Los Angeles Angels: Mike Trout (#VoteTrout)
Kansas City Royals: Eric Hosmer (#VoteHosmer)
Minnesota Twins: Brian Dozier (#VoteDozier)
New York Yankees: Didi Gregorius (#VoteDidi)
Oakland Athletics: Khris Davis (#khRushTheVote)
Seattle Mariners: Nelson Cruz (#VoteBoomstick)
Tampa Bay Rays: Evan Longoria (#VoteLongo)
Texas Rangers: Adrian Beltre (#VoteBeltre)
Toronto Blue Jays: Josh Donaldson (#VoteDonaldson)

National League
Arizona Diamondbacks: Jake Lamb (#VoteLamb)
Atlanta Braves: Freddie Freeman (#VoteFreddie)
Chicago Cubs: Kris Bryant (#VoteBryant)
Cincinnati Reds: Joey Votto (#VoteVotto)
Colorado Rockies: Nolan Arenado (#VoteNolan)
Los Angeles Dodgers: Corey Seager (#VoteCorey)
Miami Marlins: Christian Yelich (#VoteChristian)
Milwaukee Brewers: Ryan Braun (#VoteBraun)
New York Mets: Yoenis Céspedes (#VoteYo)
Philadelphia Phillies: Odubel Herrera (#VoteHerrera)
Pittsburgh Pirates: Gregory Polanco (#VoteCoffee)
St. Louis Cardinals: Stephen Piscotty (#VotePiscotty)
San Diego Padres: Wil Myers (#VoteMyers)
San Francisco Giants: Brandon Crawford (#VoteBCraw)
Washington Nationals: Daniel Murphy (#VoteMurph)

Also for the seventh consecutive year, a special panel of Hall of Fame players, led by Hank Aaron himself, will also vote on the winners of the award, which is officially sanctioned by Major League Baseball.

Ken Griffey Jr. has been added to the Hall of Fame panel which also includes Roberto Alomar, Johnny Bench, Craig Biggio, Eddie Murray and Robin Yount. These Hall of Famers - who combined for 17,010 hits, 8,844 RBI and 2,275 home runs - have all been personally selected by Aaron to lend their expertise to select the best offensive performer in each League.

Continuing through October 14, fans have the opportunity to select one American League and one National League winner from a list comprising of one finalist per Club. The winners of the 2016 Hank Aaron Award will be announced during the 112th World Series.

Past winners of the Hank Aaron Award include: Josh Donaldson and Bryce Harper (2015); Giancarlo Stanton and Mike Trout (2014); Miguel Cabrera and Paul Goldschmidt (2013); Cabrera and Buster Posey (2012); Jose Bautista and Matt Kemp (2011); Bautista and Joey Votto (2010); Derek Jeter and Albert Pujols (2009); Aramis Ramirez and Kevin Youkilis (2008); Alex Rodriguez and Prince Fielder (2007); Jeter and Ryan Howard (2006); David Ortiz and Andruw Jones (2005); Manny Ramirez and Barry Bonds (2004); Rodriguez and Pujols (2003); Rodriguez and Bonds (2001-02); Carlos Delgado and Todd Helton (2000) and Manny Ramirez and Sammy Sosa (1999).

The Hank Aaron Award was introduced in 1999 to honor the 25th Anniversary of Aaron breaking Babe Ruth's all-time home run record, and, at that time, was the first major award introduced by Major League Baseball in more than 25 years.