Brandon Crawford & Javier Lopez named 2016 'Willie Mac' Award winners

San Francisco, Calif. - San Francisco Giants infielder Brandon Crawford and left-handed reliever Javier Lopez were selected as the winners of the 2016 "Willie Mac" Award, the club announced today. It's just the third time since the award has been given out that the team has had co-winners (also in 1995 and 2001).

The Willie McCovey Award is an annual honor bestowed upon the most inspirational player on the team, as voted upon by Giants players, coaches, training staff, clubhouse staff, the fans and Willie McCovey himself. This season marks the 36th anniversary of the award, which was established in 1980, in honor of legend and Hall of Famer Willie McCovey. Engraved on the plaque that both Crawford and Lopez will receive are the words "Competitive Spirit, Ability and Leadership" to characterize the qualities both McCovey, Crawford and Lopez exemplify.

In his sixth Major League season, Crawford is hitting a career-high .272 (147-for-541) with 28 doubles and 12 home runs in 152 games. He leads the club with 82 RBI and his 11 triples this season are tied for the most in the bigs. The captain of the infield, Crawford's 17 runs saved rank as the second-most among National League shortstops and his .982 fielding percentage ranks as the fourth-highest.

Lopez, in his seventh season with the Giants, has posted a 1-3 mark with a 4.05 ERA (12er, 26.2ip) and has held left-handed batters to a .211 clip (16-for-76). His 53 inherited runners are tied for the fourth-most in the Majors and his 11.3 percent of inherited runners scored ranks as the fourth-lowest in the big leagues. Since joining the Giants in 2010, he has held left-handed batters to a .166 average and has surrendered just four home runs.

Listed below are the "Willie Mac Award" winners:

1980          Jack Clark

1981          Larry Herndon

1982          Joe Morgan

1983          Darrell Evans

1984          Bob Brenly

1985          Mike Krukow

1986          Mike Krukow

1987          Chris Speier

1988          Jose Uribe

1989          Dave Dravecky

1990          Steve Bedrosian

1991          Robby Thompson

1992          Mike Felder

1993          Kirt Manwaring

1994          None

1995          Mark Leiter

Mark Carreon

1996          Shawon Dunston

1997          J.T. Snow

1998          Jeff Kent

1999          Marvin Benard

2000          Ellis Burks

2001          Mark Gardner

                   Benito Santiago

2002          David Bell

2003          Marquis Grissom

2004          J.T. Snow

2005          Mike Matheny

2006          Omar Vizquel

2007          Bengie Molina

2008          Bengie Molina

2009          Matt Cain

2010          Andres Torres

2011          Ryan Vogelsong

2012          Buster Posey

2013          Hunter Pence

2014          Madison Bumgarner

2015          Matt Duffy

2016          Brandon Crawford      

                   Javier Lopez