White Sox announce 2017 regular-season schedule

The Chicago White Sox have announced their 2017 regular-season schedule, with Opening Day on Monday, April 3 vs. Detroit (3:10 p.m. CT). The home opener is part of a three-game series (with an off day on April 4) against the division-rival Tigers. The Sox open the season against Detroit for the first time since 1963 and first at home since 1958.

The White Sox will play 28 of their first 34 games of the season against American League Central opponents, including a three-game series from April 7-9 vs. Minnesota to close out the first homestand. Following the three-game set with the Twins, Chicago takes a nine-game trip to Cleveland (April 11-13), Minnesota (April 14-16) and New York-AL (April 17-19).  

The San Diego Padres (May 12-14 at home) are the first of six interleague opponents the White Sox face in 2017. Chicago travels to Arizona May 22-24 for just the third time in franchise history (2003 and 2011). The White Sox will play host to San Francisco from September 8-10 for just the third time (2003 and 2014).

Other 2017 interleague series include: the Crosstown Series vs. the Cubs (July 24-25 at Wrigley Field and July 26-27 at Guaranteed Rate Field), Colorado (July 7-9 at Coors Field) and Los Angeles (July 18-19 at Guaranteed Rate Field and August 15-16 at Dodger Stadium).

The White Sox will begin a three-game series against the Boston Red Sox at home on Memorial Day, May 29, marking just the third season (2013-14) the Sox will host an opponent on the holiday since 2006. Chicago welcomes the remaining non-divisional AL teams to Guaranteed Rate Field on the following dates: Baltimore (June 12-15), Oakland (June 23-25), New York (June 26-29), Texas (June 30-July 2), Seattle (July 14-16), Toronto (July 31-August 2), Houston (August 8-10), Tampa Bay (September 1-3) and Los Angeles (September 25-28).

Chicago has three, three-team homestands (June 23-July 2, July 26-August 2, September 1-10) and takes five, three-city trips next season (April 11-19, April 28-May 7, May 15-24, June 2-11, September 11-21). The five three-city trips are the most since 2013 (six).

The 2017 schedule is tentative and subject to change. Finalized game times and a complete broadcast schedule will be released at a later date.

Season tickets for 2017 are available at whitesox.com or by calling 312-674-1000.