Cardinals set for HOF ceremony on Saturday

Carpener, Torre headline the inductees for the Class of 2016

Cardinals set for HOF ceremony on Saturday

ST. LOUIS -- There will be connections to eight of the franchise's 11 World Series championships when the Cardinals induct four new members into their Hall of Fame on Saturday.

That 2016 class, which was voted on earlier this year, includes former National League Cy Young Award winner Chris Carpenter, former MVP Joe Torre, four-time All-Star Terry Moore and Sam Breadon, who oversaw the organization win nine NL pennants during his run as president and majority owner.

The third annual induction ceremony will be held at 2 p.m. CT at FOX Sports Midwest Live! in Ballpark Village. The event is free to the public, and the ceremony will be replayed on Fox Sports Midwest at 11:30 a.m. on Sunday. Carpenter and Torre will be in attendance, along with almost a dozen other members of the Cardinals Hall of Fame.

Carpenter and Torre were part of an eight-player modern ballot that went before the fans during a six-week voting period that ended in April and drew more than 33,000 votes. The ballot was built by members of a Red Ribbon committee who considered anyone who played at least three seasons with the Cardinals and has been retired for between three and 40 years.

Carpenter played nine seasons in St. Louis, during which time he won the 2005 NL Cy Young Award and was a three-time All-Star. His legacy, however, is largely tied to his postseason performances. He started 18 playoff games and remains the franchise's all-time leader in wins (10) and innings (108).

"I was very fortunate to be in the seat to see him quite a few different ways," said manager Mike Matheny, who caught Carpenter in Toronto and St. Louis. "Early just getting started, and then how he exited and everything he did in between, he just went about it the right way. He's one of those guys who still has his fingerprint on the organization, and that's something I hope he takes a lot of pride in."

Beginning in 1969, Torre played six seasons with the Cardinals as a catcher, first baseman and third baseman. He won the 1971 NL MVP Award after leading the league with a .363 average, 137 RBIs and 230 hits. His .308 career average as a Cardinal ranks ninth in franchise history, and he drove in at least 100 runs in three of his six seasons in St. Louis. Torre later managed the club from 1990-95.

Moore's selection was made by the Red Ribbon Committee, which annually elects a veteran player. Players who have been retired more than 40 years and played at least three seasons with the Cardinals are eligible for consideration.

Moore played 11 seasons and took a three-year hiatus in the prime of his career to serve in World War II. He was a four-time All Star from 1939-42 and was the starting center fielder for the '42 and '46 World Series championship clubs.

Separate of the Red Ribbon process and fan vote, the Cardinals chose to include Breadon, a former team president and majority owner, in this Hall of Fame class. Breadon became president in 1920 and went on to oversee a club that won six World Series championships and nine pennants. Breadon, along with Branch Rickey, is also credited with developing the modern-day farm system.

Jenifer Langosch has covered the Cardinals for since 2012, and previously covered the Pirates from 2007-11. Read her blog, By Gosh, It's Langosch, follow her on Twitter @LangoschMLB, like her Facebook page Jenifer Langosch for and listen to her podcast. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.