Astros Extend PDC with Triple A Fresno

Two-year extension runs through the 2018 season

HOUSTON, TX - The Houston Astros announced today that the club has extended its Player Development Contract (PDC) with the Triple A Fresno Grizzlies of the Pacific Coast League. The two-year extension continues the affiliation between the Astros and Grizzlies through the 2018 season. The announcement was made by Astros General Manager Jeff Luhnow and Grizzlies General Manager and Executive Vice President Derek Franks at a press conference in Fresno this afternoon.

"We are excited to extend our partnership with the Fresno Grizzlies for another two years," said Astros Director of Minor League Operations Allen Rowin. "The fans and community have embraced our players and staff and have made us feel like we are at home in Fresno. The Grizzlies ownership group has provided a great environment for us to continue the development of our players, and the front office has gone above and beyond in their efforts to make our players comfortable. We are thankful to everyone involved in our partnership and look forward to continuing to field championship teams in Fresno for the foreseeable future."

"Nearly two years ago when we first began our relationship with the Houston Astros in Fresno, we wondered aloud what the first Grizzlies championship club would mean to this community, and that dream was realized in year one," said Franks. "From there, the Astros have made us feel like family. Their players are great guys and our fans appreciate their efforts on the field and in the community. As we wrap up another winning season with postseason aspirations, we couldn't be happier to extend our affiliation with the Houston Astros for two more years."

The current partnership between the Astros and Grizzlies began in 2015. That season, the Grizzlies set a franchise record with 84 wins while claiming their first Pacific Coast League Championship and Triple A National Championship titles.

Fresno is the ninth Triple A affiliate in Astros history, following Oklahoma City (1962-72, 2011-14), Round Rock (2005-10), New Orleans (1997-04), Tucson (1980-96), Charleston (1977-79), Memphis (1976), Iowa (1975) and Denver (1973-74).