Schedule released for 2016 Arizona Fall League

Schedule released for 2016 Arizona Fall League

In just a few short months, many of baseball's rising stars will descend on the desert for the annual Arizona Fall League.

The AFL released its schedule Friday for the 2016 season, which will feature six prospect-heavy teams and run from Oct. 11 to Nov. 19.

Games will be played Monday through Saturday at the various Spring Training facilities in the Phoenix area. Surprise Stadium returns in 2016 as an AFL venue and home to the Surprise Saguaros after it was closed for renovations last year. The other five ballparks -- Scottsdale Stadium, Camelback Ranch-Glendale, Salt River Fields, Sloan Park and Peoria Sports Complex -- remain unchanged.

View the complete 2016 Arizona Fall League schedule

The popular Bowman Hitting Challenge is scheduled for just before the season on Oct. 8. The fourth annual home-run derby features one batter from each participating Major League organization vying for an American League and National League cash prize.

The AFL stars will again come together for the 11th Fall Stars Game on Nov. 5 at Surprise Stadium. The season will culminate with its annual championship game on Nov. 19 at Scottsdale Stadium.

Below is the list of AFL teams as well as their organizational assignments:

Mesa Solar Sox:
A's, Blue Jays, Cubs, Indians, Marlins
Salt River Rafters: Braves, Brewers, D-backs, Rockies, Tigers
Scottsdale Scorpions: Angels, Giants, Mets, Phillies, Yankees

Glendale Desert Dogs:
Astros, Cardinals, Dodgers, Nationals, White Sox
Peoria Javelinas: Mariners, Orioles, Padres, Rays, Reds
Surprise Saguaros: Pirates, Rangers, Red Sox, Royals, Twins

Chad Thornburg is a reporter for This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.