MLB announces 2016 AFL assignments

MLB announces 2016 AFL assignments

The 2016 Arizona Fall League organization and coaching staff assignments were announced on Friday for the league's 25th anniversary season, which opens on Oct. 11.

The two-division, six-team league, founded in 1992 and owned and operated by Major League Baseball, includes top young players from all 30 Major League teams. The 2016 East Division includes the Mesa Solar Sox, Salt River Rafters and Scottsdale Scorpions. The Glendale Desert Dogs, Peoria Javelinas and Surprise Saguaros play in the West Division.

This season, in the East Division, the A's Ryan Christenson will manage Mesa, the Rockies' Tony Diaz will manage Salt River and the Mets' Tom Goodwin will manage Scottsdale. In the West, the White Sox's Aaron Rowand will manage Glendale, the Rays' Jared Sandberg will manage Peoria and the Red Sox's Carlos Febles will manage Surprise.

Complete Arizona Fall League coverage

The league's 11th annual Fall Stars Game will take place on Nov. 5 at Surprise Stadium, and the league championship will be held on Nov. 19 at Scottsdale Stadium.

The 2016 Arizona Fall League team assignments include:


Mesa Solar Sox
Chicago Cubs
Cleveland Indians
Miami Marlins
Oakland A's
Toronto Blue Jays

Salt River Rafters
Arizona Diamondbacks
Atlanta Braves
Colorado Rockies
Detroit Tigers
Milwaukee Brewers

Scottsdale Scorpions
Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim
New York Mets
New York Yankees
Philadelphia Phillies
San Francisco Giants


Glendale Desert Dogs
Chicago White Sox
Houston Astros
Los Angeles Dodgers
St. Louis Cardinals
Washington Nationals

Peoria Javelinas
Baltimore Orioles
Cincinnati Reds
San Diego Padres
Seattle Mariners
Tampa Bay Rays

Surprise Saguaros
Boston Red Sox
Kansas City Royals
Minnesota Twins
Pittsburgh Pirates
Texas Rangers

David Adler is a reporter for based in New York. Follow him on Twitter at @_dadler. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.