Jonathan Mayo

Futures Game actually a look at near future

Half of 50 players on last year's rosters have reached Majors

Futures Game actually a look at near future

SAN DIEGO -- Of the 50 players who were on the rosters of last year's SiriusXM All-Star Futures Game, half have gone on to the big leagues. That really should be the only information needed to convince fans to watch this year's game.

The 18th edition of the Futures Game takes place at 7 p.m. ET/4 p.m. PT Sunday at Petco Park and can be watched live on MLB Network and Matt Vasgersian will handle the play-by-play and will be joined in the booth by Mark DeRosa and's Jonathan Mayo, with Heidi Watney in both the United States and World dugouts.

The game can also be heard on SiriusXM's MLB Network Radio (XM Channel 89; Sirius Channel 209). Mike Ferrin, Jim Duquette and Jim Bowden will have the call there.

There will be plenty of top-flight prospects to watch this year. There are 18 players on's Top 100 prospects list, starting with No. 5 Yoan Moncada. The complete list of Top 100 players on Futures rosters is as follows:

5. Yoan Moncada, 2B, Red Sox
6. Dansby Swanson, SS, Braves
11. Alex Reyes, RHP, Cardinals
18. Alex Bregman, SS/3B, Astros
21. Andrew Benintendi, OF, Red Sox
23. Clint Frazier, OF, Indians
33. Carson Fulmer, RHP, White Sox
39. Manny Margot, OF, Padres
40. David Dahl, OF, Rockies
45. Dominic Smith, 1B, Mets
46. Jeff Hoffman, RHP, Rockies
51. Gary Sanchez, C, Yankees
53. Josh Hader, LHP, Brewers
60. Amir Garrett, LHP, Reds
69. Amed Rosario, SS, Mets
71. Willy Adames, SS, Rays
82. Hunter Renfroe, OF, Padres
99. Joe Musgrove, RHP, Astros

Top tools

When talking prospects, everyone always talks about tools. The players in the Futures Game every year are dripping with them, and this year is no different. Jim Callis broke down the top tools in this year's game, but here are the top players on each roster in each tool:

Hit: Bregman (U.S.); Moncada (World)
Power: Renfroe; Sanchez
Speed: Dahl; Moncada
Defense: Dahl; Margot
Arm: Carson Kelly, Cardinals; Francisco Mejia, Indians
Fastball: J.T. Chargois, Twins; Reyes
Curveball: Hoffman; Reyes
Slider: Hader; Joe Jimenez, Tigers
Changeup: Nate Smith, Angels; Jharel Cotton, Dodgers
Control: Musgrove; Adalberto Mejia, Giants

Futures Game history
Year Score
2015 US 10, World 1
2014 US 3, World 2
2013 US 4, World 2
2012 US 17, World 5
2011 US 6, World 4
2010 US 9, World 1
2009 World 7, US 5
2008 World 3, US 0
2007 World 7, US 2
2006 US 8, World 5
2005 World 4, US 0
2004 US 4, World 3
2003 US 3, World 2
2002 World 5, US 1
2001 US 5, World 1
2000 US 3, World 2
1999 World 7, US 0


The winner of the game's MVP, named the Larry Doby Award in 2003, has gone on to bigger and better things.

Last year Kyle Schwarber won the honor and made a major contribution to the Cubs' playoff push. Five MVPs -- Alfonso Soriano, Jose Reyes, Grady Sizemore, Aaron Hill and Billy Butler -- have gone on to play in future Major League All-Star Games.

The U.S. team has a six-game winning streak going, having last lost in 2009.

The U.S. holds an 11-6 advantage in the history of the game, dating back to the first edition of the game in 1999.

Jonathan Mayo is a reporter for Follow him on Twitter @JonathanMayo and Facebook, and listen to him on the weekly Pipeline Podcast. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.