2016 Esurance MLB All-Star Game Final Vote (#FinalVote) now underway

Winners will be unveiled this Friday on special Final Vote-themed MLB Now live on MLB Network and MLB.com as ballot closes

NEW YORK, July 5, 2016 - American and National League All-Star Team managers Ned Yost and Terry Collins, in conjunction with Major League Baseball, announced the candidates for the 2016 Esurance MLB All-Star Game Final Vote (#FinalVote), which is held exclusively on MLB.com and the individual Club sites.

Fans began casting ballots immediately following tonight's Esurance All-Star Selection Show on ESPN and can continue voting until 4 p.m. (EDT) on Friday, July 8.

These next three-plus days will see creative #FinalVote campaigns pop up across ballparks, airports, banners, t-shirts and caps, sky writing, social media avatars and hashtags and furious online-only fan voting to support the following 10 players as they vie for the two remaining All-Star roster spots:

American League

Ian Kinsler (DET) - #VoteKinsler (A1)

Evan Longoria (TB) - #VoteLongo (A2)

Dustin Pedroia (BOS) - #VotePedey (A3)

Michael Saunders (TOR) - #VoteCaptainCanada (A4)

George Springer (HOU) - #VoteSpringer (A5)

National League

Brandon Belt (SF) - #VoteBelt (N1)

Ryan Braun (MIL) - #VoteBraun (N2)

Jake Lamb (ARI) - #VoteLamb (N3)

Starling Marte (PIT) - #VOTEMARTE (N4)

Trevor Story (COL) - #StoryTime (N5)


Voters also can use their mobile devices to cast ballots at MLB.com/vote or via text message. To receive the ballot, text the word "VOTE" to 89269. To vote for a specific player, fans can text the choice to 89269. EXAMPLE: Text "A3" to vote for AL Player 3 or "N3" to vote for NL Player 3. Message and data rates may apply. Text "STOP" to end and "HELP" for information. Mobile voting in Canada also is available and fans should text their choices to 101010.

Baseball fans have cast nearly 600 million online votes since the program's inception in 2002.


For the fifth consecutive year, the MLB All-Star Game Final Vote will include social balloting, as Twitter support from the 10 candidates' fans over the last six hours of balloting will count toward their final vote totals. From 10 a.m. - 4 p.m. (EDT) on Friday, July 8, any tweet that includes a designated player hashtag (noted above) will be tabulated as part of the official vote total used to determine the AL and NL winners.


The winners, as chosen exclusively by online fan voting totals, then will be announced during a Final Vote-themed telecast of MLB Now featuring commentary from political analyst Jeff Greenfield, live on MLB Network and MLB.com from 4-5 p.m. (EDT). MLB Network will provide extensive coverage across all of its studio programming during the Final Vote, including interviews with the candidates, hourly updates, heat maps indicating the cities where votes are being cast for each candidate, updates on player and club campaigns and a running countdown clock leading up to the announcement.


American League

Joaquin Benoit (2013)

Xander Bogaerts (2015)

Jeremy Bonderman (2007)

Jonathan Broxton (2012)

Eric Byrnes (2003)

Yoenis Cespedes (2015)

Eric Chavez (2002)

Carl Crawford (2005)

Johnny Damon (2002*)

Yu Darvish (2012*)

Steven Delabar (2013*)

Brian Dozier (2015)

Jermaine Dye (2008)

Darin Erstad (2002)

Kelvim Escobar (2007)

Chone Figgins (2009)

Lew Ford (2004)

Ernesto Frieri (2012)

Brett Gardner (2015)

Jason Giambi (2003, 2008)

Alex Gordon (2011)

Jose Guillen (2008)

Travis Hafner (2004, 2006)

Roy Halladay (2007)

Jason Hammel (2012)

Ramon Hernandez (2006)

Torii Hunter (2005)

Brandon Inge (2009*)

Derek Jeter (2005)

Adam Jones (2011)

Dallas Keuchel (2014)

Ian Kinsler (2009)

Corey Kluber (2014)

Paul Konerko (2004, 2010, 2011*)

Adam Lind (2009)

Francisco Liriano (2006)

Evan Longoria (2008*)

Victor Martinez (2011)

Hideki Matsui (2004*, 2005)

Bengie Molina (2003)

Mike Moustakas (2015*)

Pat Neshek (2007)

Hideki Okajima (2007*)

Magglio Ordonez (2002)

Jake Peavy (2012)

Carlos Pena (2009)

A.J. Pierzynski (2006*)

Scott Podsednik (2005*)

Rick Porcello (2014)

Garrett Richards (2014)

Brian Roberts (2008)

David Robertson (2013)

Chris Sale (2014*)

Tanner Scheppers (2013)

Nick Swisher (2010*)

Frank Thomas (2003, 2004)

Jim Thome (2002)

Koji Uehara (2013)

Jason Varitek (2003*)

Justin Verlander (2006)

Kevin Youkilis (2010)

Delmon Young (2010)

Michael Young (2010)

Ben Zobrist (2011)

National League

Bobby Abreu (2004*, 2006)

Heath Bell (2010)

Michael Bourn (2012)

Pat Burrell (2008)

Orlando Cabrera (2003)

Chris Capuano (2006)

Luis Castillo (2003)

Johnny Cueto (2015)

Ian Desmond (2013)

Andre Ethier (2011)

Jeurys Familia (2015)

Steve Finley (2004)

Freddie Freeman (2013*)

David Freese (2012*)

Nomar Garciaparra (2006*)

Brian Giles (2002)

Adrian Gonzalez (2013)

Carlos Gonzalez (2010)

Tom Gorzelanny (2007)

Cristian Guzman (2009)

Bryce Harper (2012)

Corey Hart (2008*)

Todd Helton (2011)

Aaron Hill (2012)

Trevor Hoffman (2005)

Geoff Jenkins (2003*)

Andruw Jones (2002*)

Chipper Jones (2012)

Matt Kemp (2009)

Jason Kendall (2004)

Ian Kennedy (2011)

Clayton Kershaw (2015)

Ryan Klesko (2002)

Carlos Lee (2008)

Kenny Lofton (2003)

Carlos Martinez (2015*)

Casey McGehee (2014)

Justin Morneau (2014)

Mike Morse (2011)

Brett Myers (2005)

Roy Oswalt (2005*, 2007)

Corey Patterson (2003)

Hunter Pence (2013)

Juan Pierre (2004)

Yasiel Puig (2013)

Albert Pujols (2002)

Aramis Ramirez (2004)

Anthony Rendon (2014)

Mark Reynolds (2009)

Anthony Rizzo (2014*)

Aaron Rowand (2008)

Pablo Sandoval (2009)

Benito Santiago (2003)

Troy Tulowitzki (2015)

Justin Upton (2014)

Shane Victorino (2009*, 2011*)

Joey Votto (2010*)

Billy Wagner (2005, 2006, 2010)

Larry Walker (2002)

Brandon Webb (2005, 2007)

David Wright (2008)

Chris Young (2006, 2007*)

Carlos Zambrano (2007)

Ryan Zimmerman (2010)