In the ninth inning, Miguel Cabrera came up with one out with Kinsler on second and Maybin on first in a 7-4 game. Cabrera hit the ball to deep right-center field, but Cleveland's Rajai Davis ran down the ball and caught it after bobbling it. Both Kinsler and Maybin had taken off, thinking the ball had been dropped on the bobble.
Davis threw the ball to the infield, and it was relayed to Indians catcher Chris Gimenez, who threw to first to double off Maybin. Neither runner had tagged up, but because the Indians didn't challenge the play, Kinsler's run will end up counting.
There was no need for the Indians to think about challenging, since they won the game, but the ruling was changed on Saturday.
As a result, Cabrera's flyout was changed to a sacrifice fly, and the additional run allowed by Cleveland closer Cody Allen was unearned. The Tigers scored two runs in the frame, but the rally came up short, moving Cleveland to 7-0 against the Tigers this season.
Chris Vannini is a contributor to MLB.com and covered the Tigers on Saturday. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.