Dodgers Select Shortstop Gavin Lux With 20th Overall Selection of 2016 First-Year Player Draft

LOS ANGELES - The Los Angeles Dodgers today selected Indian Trail High School (Kenosha, WI) shortstop Gavin Lux with their first pick (20th overall) in the 2016 First-Year Player Draft.

The 6-foot-2, 175-pound left-handed hitting shortstop hit .531 (43-for-81) with six home runs, 10 doubles, four triples, 31 RBI and stole 23 bases this spring. He also drew 29 walks, while only striking out twice in 26 games in 2016. Lux, 18, was rated by Baseball America as the fourth-best shortstop in the 2016 draft and was the 36th overall prospect. He was also named the Gatorade State player of the year for the state of Wisconsin.

"We're really excited that we were able to select Gavin," said Dodger Director, Amateur Scouting Billy Gasparino. "We think he's a bright young man with a lot of ability and comes from a baseball family. He is a pure shortstop that can run, hit, and hit with power from the left side."

Lux's uncle, Augie Schmidt, was the second-overall pick in the 1982 draft by the Toronto Blue Jays and is currently the coach for Division III Carthage College.

This marks the first time that the Dodgers have selected a position player with their first overall pick since Corey Seager in 2012. Los Angeles has selected a pitcher with their first pick of the draft in 10 of the last 12 years.

Lux was scouted by Dodger area scout Trey Magnuson.

The Dodgers have three more picks tonight, #32 (first round), #36 (Lottery Round A) and #65 (second round).

Below are the Dodgers' first-round selections since the start of the draft in 1965:

1965 John Wyatt (INF)

1966 Larry Hutton (RHP)

1967 Don Denbow (INF)

1968 Bobby Valentine (OF)

1969 Terry McDermott (C)

1970 Jim Haller (RHP)

1971 Rick Rhoden (RHP)

1972 John Harbin (INF)

1973 Ted Farr (C)

1974 Rick Sutcliffe (RHP)

1975 Mark Bradley (INF)

1976 Mike Scioscia (C)

1977 Bob Welch (RHP)

1978 None

1979 Steve Howe (LHP)

           Steve Perry (RHP)

1980 Ross Jones (INF)

1981 Dave Anderson (INF)

1982 Franklin Stubbs (1B)

1983 Erik Sonberg (LHP)

1984 Dennis Livingston (RHP)

1985 Chris Gwynn (OF)

1986 Mike White (OF)

1987 Dan Opperman (RHP)

1988 Bill Bene (RHP)

1989 Kiki Jones (RHP)

           Tom Goodwin (OF)

           Jamie McAndrew* (RHP)

1990 Ronnie Walden (LHP)

1991   None

1992 Ryan Luzinski* (C)

           Michael Moore* (OF)

1993 Darren Dreifort (RHP)

1994 Paul Konerko (C)

1995 David Yocum (LHP)

1996 Damian Rolls (INF)

1997 Glenn Davis (1B)

1998 Bubba Crosby (OF)

1999 Jason Repko* (INF)

2000 Ben Diggins (RHP)

2001 None

2002 James Loney (1B)

           Greg Miller* (LHP)

2003 Chad Billingsley (RHP)

2004 Scott Elbert (LHP)

           Blake DeWitt (3B)

           Justin Orenduff* (RHP)

2005 Luke Hochevar* (RHP)

2006 Clayton Kershaw (LHP)

           Bryan Morris* (RHP)

           Preston Mattingly* (INF)

2007 Chris Withrow (RHP)

           James Adkins* (LHP)

2008 Ethan Martin (RHP)

2009 Aaron Miller* (LHP)

2010 Zach Lee (RHP)

2011 Chris Reed (LHP)

2012   Corey Seager (SS)

           Jesmuel Valentin* (SS)

2013   Chris Anderson (RHP)

2014   Grant Holmes (RHP)

2015 Walker Buehler (RHP)

2016    Gavin Lux (SS)