Bochy wants explanation for replay decision

Giants manager feels Kemp's catch on Duffy was trapped

Bochy wants explanation for replay decision

SAN FRANCISCO -- Giants manager Bruce Bochy intends to approach baseball officials to question the legitimacy of a replay review Monday night involving third baseman Matt Duffy and a base hit that wasn't.

Bochy remained certain Tuesday that Padres right fielder Matt Kemp trapped Duffy's eighth-inning, two-out line drive. Replays indicated the ball brushed the outfield grass as Kemp tried to keep it in his grasp. He did, which possibly influenced replay officials. Bochy challenged the ruling, which stood as called and denied Duffy a run-scoring hit, since Joe Panik was aboard after tripling. The Giants nevertheless won, 5-4.

"I'm just glad it didn't decide the game," Bochy said. "... The glove came over, the ball was against the ground. It's a trap."

Bochy said he has previously questioned Joe Torre, who oversees on-field operations, about similar rulings in similar situations since the current replay system was instituted in 2014. Asked what he thinks about replay overall, Bochy gave the procedure a passing grade but observed it's excessively relied upon and has slowed the average pace of ballgames.

"I think we've gone a little overboard on that," Bochy said.

Chris Haft has covered the Giants since 2005, and for MLB.com since 2007. Follow him on Twitter at @sfgiantsbeat and listen to his podcast. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.