The Rangers appealed and lost the challenge. The official ruling from New York stated:
"After viewing all relevant angles the Replay Official definitively determined that there was no violation by the Catcher of the HP Collision Rule. Additionally the Replay Official could not definitively determine that the runner's hand touched HP prior to the Catcher applying the tag. The call on the field STANDS, the runner is out at HP."
T.R. Sullivan is a reporter for MLB.com. Follow him on Twitter @Sullivan_Ranger and listen to his podcast. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.