Howard takes TSN top player award

Howard takes TSN top player award

Phillies first baseman Ryan Howard, who led the Major Leagues with 58 home runs and 149 RBIs, was named Tuesday the Player of the Year by The Sporting News.

Howard received 294 of the 516 votes cast by Major League players, almost four times the total of 75 votes received by Red Sox designated hitter David Ortiz. Cardinals first baseman Albert Pujols finished third in the voting with 32.

Jim Leyland of the Tigers and Joe Girardi, dismissed by the Marlins earlier this month, were named the American League and National League Managers of the Year, respectively.

Leyland, who returned to managing this season after seven years away, led the Tigers to 95 wins and a Wild Card berth. Girardi's Marlins, who had the Majors' smallest payroll and utilized 22 rookies during the season, surged from an 11-31 start to finish third in the NL East. Florida reached the .500 mark early in September and stayed in the Wild Card race until the final week.

The Marlins' success with first-year players was reflected in NL Rookie of the Year voting, won by Florida second baseman Dan Uggla. Tigers right-hander Justin Verlander won the award in the AL.

The Sporting News All-Star teams and awards:


Catcher: Joe Mauer, Twins
First base: Justin Morneau, Twins
Second base: Robinson Cano, Yankees
Third base: Joe Crede, White Sox
Shortstop: Derek Jeter, Yankees
Outfield: Jermaine Dye, White Sox
Outfield: Manny Ramirez, Red Sox
Outfield: Vernon Wells, Blue Jays
Designated hitter: David Ortiz, Red Sox

Pitcher of the Year: Johan Santana, Twins
Rookie of the Year: Justin Verlander, Tigers
Comeback Player of the Year: Jim Thome, White Sox
Fireman of the Year: Francisco Rodriguez, Angels


Catcher: Brian McCann, Braves
First base: Ryan Howard, Phillies
Second base: Chase Utley, Phillies
Third base: David Wright, Mets
Shortstop: Jose Reyes, Mets
Outfield: Carlos Beltran, Mets
Outfield: Alfonso Soriano, Nationals
Outfield (tie): Lance Berkman, Astros; Andruw Jones, Braves

Pitcher of the Year: Chris Carpenter, Cardinals
Rookie of the Year: Dan Uggla, Marlins
Comeback Player of the Year: Nomar Garciaparra, Dodgers
Fireman of the Year: Trevor Hoffman, Padres