Baez officially on DL as Cubs finalize roster

Baez officially on DL as Cubs finalize roster

ANAHEIM -- The Cubs set the Opening Day 25-man roster Sunday, and placed four players on the 15-day disabled list, including infielder Javier Baez, who is sidelined with a bruised left thumb.

The others on the DL include right-hander Dallas Beeler (right shoulder inflammation), right-hander Aaron Brooks (hip contusion), and infielder Christian Villanueva (right fibular fracture). All four on the disabled list are retroactive to March 25.

The Cubs' final 25 includes 13 pitchers, including the rotation of Jake Arrieta, Jon Lester, John Lackey, Jason Hammel and Kyle Hendricks, plus relievers Clayton Richard, Travis Wood, Adam Warren, Pedro Strop, Justin Grimm, Trevor Cahill, Neil Ramirez, and Hector Rondon.

The rest of the roster includes catchers David Ross, Kyle Schwarber and Miguel Montero; infielders Tommy La Stella, Kris Bryant, Ben Zobrist, Addison Russell and Anthony Rizzo; and outfielders Jason Heyward, Dexter Fowler, Matt Szczur and Jorge Soler.

Carrie Muskat is a reporter for She writes a blog, Muskat Ramblings. You can follow her on Twitter @CarrieMuskat and listen to her podcast. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.