Texas Rangers announce 2016 Opening Day roster

The Texas Rangers made the following roster moves today to get to the Opening Day limit of 25 players:


-- Placed four players on the 15-day disabled list:

                RHP Yu Darvish retroactive to March 25 as he recovers from right elbow surgery

                C Chris Gimenez retroactive to March 27 with infection in left lower leg

                OF Josh Hamilton retroactive to March 25 as he recovers from left knee surgery

                RHP Luke Jackson retroactive to March 25 with a stress reaction in his lower back




PITCHERS (12): Tony Barnette, Jake Diekman, Sam Dyson, Andrew Faulkner, Cole Hamels, Derek Holland, Keone Kela, Phil Klein, Colby Lewis, Martin Perez, Shawn Tolleson, Tom Wilhelmsen.


CATCHERS (2): Robinson Chirinos, Bryan Holaday.


INFIELDERS (6): Hanser Alberto, Elvis Andrus, Adrian Beltre, Prince Fielder, Mitch Moreland, Rougned Odor.


OUTFIELDERS (5): Shin-Soo Choo, Delino DeShields, Ian Desmond, Ryan Rua, Justin Ruggiano.


15-DAY DL (4): RHP Yu Darvish, C Chris Gimenez, OF Josh Hamilton, RHP Luke Jackson.


60-DAY DL (1): RHP Tanner Scheppers.


Following Saturday's game, Texas assigned non-roster players RHP A.J. Griffin, LHP Cesar Ramos, and INF Pedro Ciriaco to Triple-A Round Rock of the Pacific Coast League.


The Rangers have 40 players on their Major League roster.


Texas opens the 2016 season on Monday afternoon against the Seattle Mariners at Globe Life Park in Arlington at 3:09 p.m. The game is a complete sellout.