Marlins annouce 2016 Opening Day roster

The Miami Marlins today announced their 2016 Opening Day 25-man roster. 

The Club will open the season carrying 12 pitchers, two catchers, seven infielders and four outfielders for their Opening Night game, Tuesday, April 5 at Marlins Park vs. the Detroit Tigers at 7:10 p.m.

The 25-man roster is as follows:

PITCHERS (12): LH Craig Breslow, LH Wei-Yin Chen, LH Adam Conley, RH Jarred Cosart, RH José Fernández, RH Edwin Jackson, RH Tom Koehler, RH Dustin McGowan, RH Bryan Morris, LH Chris Narveson, RH David Phelps and RH A.J. Ramos.

CATCHERS (2): Jeff Mathis, J.T. Realmuto.

INFIELDERS (7): Justin Bour, Derek Dietrich, Dee Gordon, Adeiny Hechavarria, Chris Johnson, Martín Prado and Miguel Rojas.

OUTFIELDERS (4): Marcell Ozuna, Giancarlo Stanton, Ichiro Suzuki and Christian Yelich.

15-DAY DL (2): LHP Mike Dunn (left forearm strain, retro to March 25), LHP Raudel Lazo (left shoulder strain, retro to March 25).

60-DAY DL (1): RHP Carter Capps (rehab from Tommy John surgery, retro to March 25).

The following transactions were made today to set the Opening Day roster: Mike Dunn placed on the 15-day DL, retro to March 25; Raudel Lazo placed on the 15-day DL, retro to March 25; Carter Capps placed on the 60-day DL, retro to March 25; Craig Breslow, Dustin McGowan and Chris Narveson selected; Brad Hand and Cole Gillespie designated for assignment.

Additional information on the 2016 Marlins is available on