Cubs Invite Three More Players to Spring Training

The Chicago Cubs have invited three additional non-roster players to major league spring training: outfielder Matt Murton, right-handed pitcher Ryan Williams and left-handed pitcher Edgar Olmos, who today cleared waivers and will report to major league spring training as a non-roster invitee.

Murton will wear uniform number 21, Williams will wear uniform number 87 and Olmos will wear uniform number 62. Left-handed pitcher C.J. Riefenhauser, who was claimed off waivers last week, will wear uniform number 60.

Including players previously announced, here are the 21 non-roster invitees for the Cubs this spring:

12 pitchers: right-handed pitchers Stephen Fife, Brandon Gomes, Jean Machi, Felix Pena, Jonathan Pettibone, Armando Rivero, Drew Rucinski, Duane Underwood Jr. and Ryan Williams, as well as left-handed pitchers Luis Cruz, Jack Leathersich and Edgar Olmos.

Three infielders: Jesus Guzman, Munenori Kawasaki and Kristopher Negron.

Four outfielders: Albert Almora, John Andreoli, Matt Murton and Juan Perez.

Two catchers: Taylor Davis and Tim Federowicz.