Accolades continue for year's top rookies

Accolades continue for year's top rookies

Topps named its 52nd annual Rookie All-Star Team on Monday, unveiling a roster that features this year's two Rookies of the Year, two members of the Marlins and 11 names that helped make 2010 one of the best seasons for first-year players in recent memory.

The two starting pitchers were Nationals right-hander Stephen Strasburg (who posted a 2.91 ERA, 92 strikeouts and 17 walks in 68 innings before Tommy John surgery) and Cardinals left-hander Jaime Garcia (13-8 with a 2.70 ERA in 28 starts), while the relief pitcher was American League Rookie of the Year Neftali Feliz (2.73 ERA and a rookie-record 40 saves).

The position players were named as follows: Marlins first baseman Gaby Sanchez (.273 batting average, 19 homers and 85 RBIs), Pirates second baseman Neil Walker (.296 average, 12 home runs), Twins third baseman Danny Valencia (.311, 40 RBIs), Cubs shortstop Starlin Castro (.300 average, 41 RBIs), Giants catcher and National League Rookie of the Year Buster Posey (.305 average, 18 homers and 67 RBIs), and outfielders Austin Jackson of the Tigers (.293, 41 RBIs and 27 stolen bases), Mike Stanton of the Marlins (22 homers and 59 RBIs in 100 games) and Jason Heyward of the Braves (.277 average, 18 homers and 72 RBIs).

The Rookie All-Star Team began in 1959, with Willie McCovey being the first of 17 future Hall of Famers named to the squad. The others are Johnny Bench, Rod Carew, Gary Carter, Andre Dawson, Carlton Fisk, Paul Molitor, Joe Morgan, Eddie Murray, Tony Perez, Kirby Puckett, Jim Rice, Cal Ripken Jr., Ryne Sandberg, Tom Seaver, Ozzie Smith and Billy Williams.

The Rookie All-Stars will each have a trophy on their 2011 trading card.

Feliz was named AL Rookie of the Year recently after receiving 20 of 28 first-place votes. The other eight went to Jackson, who finished second. Valencia ranked third in the voting. In the NL, Posey captured 20 of 32 first-place votes, with Heyward (second place) getting nine, Garcia (third) earning one and Sanchez (fourth) receiving the other two.

Alden Gonzalez is a reporter for and writes an MLBlog, Gonzo and 'The Show'. Follow him on Twitter @Alden_Gonzalez. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.