Jeff Banister to receive 2015 AL Manager of the Year Award at Dr. Pepper Texas Rangers awards banquet on Friday, January 22

Pittsburgh manager Clint Hurdle to make presentation

Jeff Banister will receive the Baseball Writers Association of America 2015 American League Manager of the Year Award at the Dr Pepper Texas Rangers Awards Banquet on Friday, January 22 at the Gaylord Resort and Convention Center in Grapevine.
A limited number of tickets remain for the event and can be purchased at
Banister is just the third Rangers manager to ever receive the BBWAA's A.L. award, joining Johnny Oates in 1996 (tied with New York's Joe Torre) and Buck Showalter in 2004. The award will be presented by Pittsburgh Pirates manager Clint Hurdle, a winner of the BBWAA 2013 N.L. Manager of the Year Award. Banister served as Hurdle's bench coach in Pittsburgh from 2011-14 before joining the Rangers. Hurdle was Texas' hitting coach in 2010, when the club won its first American League pennant.
The 2016 Dr Pepper Texas Rangers Awards Dinner will honor a number of baseball personalities and will feature appearances by Texas Rangers past and present. 2015 Rangers award recipients will include: Player of the Year-Prince Fielder; Pitcher of the Year-Shawn Tolleson; Rookie of the Year-Delino DeShields; Harold McKinney Good Guy: Elvis Andrus; Richard Durrett Hardest Working Man-Rougned Odor; Mark Holtz Alumni Award: Dean Palmer.