Pirates name Minor League managers and coaches

The Pittsburgh Pirates today announced their 2016 Player Development staff. The announcement was made by Director of Minor League Operations, Larry Broadway.


Dean Treanor will return to manage Triple-A Indianapolis for a sixth straight season after leading the Indians to an 83-61 record last year. The Indians advanced to the Governor's Cup championship before losing in the fifth and deciding game.


Joey Cora will take over Double-A Altoona in his first season as a member of the Pirates organization.

Michael Ryan will return to High-A Bradenton for a second straight season after leading the Marauders to a 74-64 record in 2015.

Brian Esposito will return to the Single-A West Virginia Power after leading the club last year to the third-best record (87-52) among all full-season teams in minor league baseball.

Wyatt Toregas will return to the West Virginia Black Bears, where he led the team to the New York-Penn League championship in its first season since relocating from Jamestown, New York.

Edgar Varela will return to manage the Bristol Pirates for a third straight season. Milver Reyes will return to manage the Gulf Coast League Pirates for a fourth straight season.

Mendy Lopez will manage Pittsburgh's team at the Dominican Academy. Gera Alvarez will oversee the academy while Cecilio Beltre, Dan Urbina and Greg Picart will serve as coaches in the D.R.



Manager: Dean Treanor

Hitting Coach: Butch Wynegar

Pitching Coach: Stan Kyles



Manager: Joey Cora

Hitting Coach: Kevin Riggs

Pitching Coach: Justin Meccage



Manager: Michael Ryan

Hitting Coach: Keoni De Renne

Pitching Coach: Jeff Johnson



Manager: Brian Esposito

Hitting Coach: Ryan Long

Pitching Coach: Matt Ford



Manager: Wyatt Toregas

Hitting Coach: Jonathan Prieto

Pitching Coach: Mark DiFelice


BRISTOL (Advanced Rookie)

Manager: Edgar Varela

Hitting Coach: Austin McClune

Pitching Coach: Tom Filer



Manager: Milver Reyes

Hitting Coach: Kory DeHaan

Pitching Coach: Elvin Nina



Manager: Mendy Lopez

Hitting Coach: TBA

Pitching Coach: Dan Urbina

Coaches: Cecilio Beltre, Greg Picart