Paul Goldschmidt finishes second in 2015 NL Most Valuable Player voting

PHOENIX - Arizona Diamondbacks first baseman Paul Goldschmidt finished second in the 2015 National League Most Valuable Player voting in an announcement today by the Baseball Writers' Association of America (BBWAA). Goldschmidt also finished runner-up in the NL MVP voting in 2013.

Since 1998, Goldschmidt is 1 of 5 players to finish Top 2 in the NL MVP balloting twice over a 3-year span, joining Ryan Braun (2011-12), Albert Pujols (2002-03, '05-06, '08-10), Ryan Howard (2006, '08) and Barry Bonds (2000-04).

"I'm extremely humbled to be considered for the award, especially in the company of two great players like Bryce and Joey," said Goldschmidt. "I'd also like to congratulate Bryce on winning the award after such an outstanding season. It's flattering to be recognized, not as much for me but for all the people who are part of this team, my teammates, coaches, trainers, clubhouse staff, scouts and player development, our fans and so many more. I'd also like to thank Major League Baseball, the Baseball Writers Association and other media members who spend their time working with us all year long."

Goldschmidt, 28, hit .321 (182-for-567) with 38 doubles, 33 home runs, 110 RBI, 118 walks and a 1.005 OPS in 2015. He ranked among NL leaders in this season in OPS (2nd), RBI (2nd), times on base (2nd, 302), average (3rd), on-base percentage (3rd, .435), slugging percentage (3rd, .570), runs scored (3rd, 103), walks (3rd), hits (3rd), total bases (3rd, 323), home runs (5th) and extra-base hits (5th, 73).

In addition to his second-place finish in the 2015 NL MVP race, Goldschmidt won his second Louisville Slugger® Silver Slugger and Rawlings® Gold Glove Award at first base (also 2013) this season, won the Wilson Defensive Player of the Year and Fielding Bible Award at first base and was selected as the club's Most Valuable Player by the Arizona chapter of the BBWAA.

Goldschmidt, who was the first player with at least 100 walks, runs scored and RBI with a .320 average or better since Miguel Cabrera in 2011, received a total of 234 points, behind the Washington Nationals' Bryce Harper (420).