Keuchel Named American League Cy Young Winner

Lefty becomes third Astros player to earn award

HOUSTON, TX - Earlier tonight on MLB Network, the Baseball Writers Association of America (BBWAA) named Astros left-handed pitcher Dallas Keuchel the 2015 American League Cy Young Award winner.

Keuchel went 20-8 with three complete games and a 2.48 ERA (64ER/232IP) in 33 starts this season. He led all AL pitchers in wins, WAR (7.2), innings pitched (232.0) and groundball to flyball ratio (3.68), ranked second in ERA and opponent batting average (.217) and tied for third in complete games. A model of consistency throughout the season, he was the starting pitcher for the AL All-Star Team, earned three AL Pitcher of the Month Awards (April, May, August) and won his second consecutive Gold Glove Award at his position. In his two postseason starts, Keuchel went 2-0 with a 0.69 ERA (1ER/13IP).

Keuchel becomes just the third player in franchise history to win the Cy Young, joining Mike Scott (1986) and Roger Clemens (2004). This award, in which Keuchel topped AL finalists David Price and Sonny Gray, gives Keuchel a clean sweep of the major pitching awards this offseason, as he has already earned the MLBPA Players Choice Award for the AL Most Outstanding Pitcher, the Warren Spahn Award, which is given to the top left-handed pitcher in Major League Baseball, and the Gold Glove Award.

With shortstop Carlos Correa being named the American League Rookie of the Year on Monday, this marks the second time in franchise history for the Astros to claim two national BBWAA awards in the same season. This also happened in 1986, when Scott won the Cy Young and Hal Lanier won the Manager of the Year. 

The Astros had three finalists for a BBWAA Award this season in Keuchel, Correa and Astros Manager A.J. Hinch, who finished second in the voting for AL Manager of the Year.

Tonight's announcement continues a busy award season for the Astros, as Hinch and his 2015 Astros were named award winners and finalists for several major awards. A full list of offseason awards and recognitions involving 2015 Astros is below.

Jose Altuve
-Rawlings AL Gold Glove winner, second base
-AL Silver Slugger winner, second base
-MLBPA Players Choice Always Game Award

Jason Castro
-Rawlings AL Gold Glove finalist, catcher

Carlos Correa
-BBWAA AL Rookie of the Year
-MLBPA Players Choice Award for AL Most Outstanding Rookie
-The Sporting News AL Rookie of the Year

Dallas Keuchel
-BBWAA AL Cy Young 
-MLBPA Players Choice Award for AL Most Outstanding Pitcher
-Rawlings AL Gold Glove winner, pitcher
-The Fielding Bible Award, given to the best fielding pitcher in the Major Leagues
-The Starting Pitcher on the Sporting News AL All-Star Team
-Warren Spahn Award, given to the top left-handed pitcher in Major League Baseball

A.J. Hinch
-BBWAA AL Manager of the Year finalist